Much Ado About Nothing
2001-01-05 - 16:05:37

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

The Artboy is home. I checked my email when I got back from our Friday morning meeting and found his message in my inbox.

It�s rather maddening, actually. He didn�t mention anything at all about what I�ve said to him, except to thank me for the New Year�s well wishes, and to confirm that this year was much better than last. He said, "It�s always better when you have someone to kiss at Midnight."

Aye, there�s the rub. It was his not kissing me at Midnight that doomed us in the first place.

Although, I don�t really believe that.

I�ve been reading through the diary pages of someone else on Diaryland. I won�t supply a link, because it�s a password-protected site, and the goods to get in were given to me by the writer in confidence, and I wouldn�t be a very good D-lander if I gave that up. I will say, though, that in reading all of his observations about life and love, I�m feeling a little uncomfortable in my chair.

I love the Boyfriend.

Not sure, then, why I�m in touch with the Artboy like this.

I�ve been�examining my motives, I guess, and I can�t say that I like them very much.

It�s like I�m playing Truth or Dare with my love life. And the truth is, I don�t want to go back to where the Artboy and I were before, and I don�t believe that things between us would ever be any different. That�s why I walked away in the final place. It wasn�t ever going to get any better.

But the dare is in waving myself in front of him. "You said you�d love me forever. So what are you gonna do now?" And logically, I don�t want him to do anything.

But there�s that little piece inside me, the very proud piece, the self-destructive piece, the piece that waited for him for so long, despite the hatchet job he did on my self esteem, that wants him to do something.

It�s like I somehow believe that if he doesn�t do something now, it invalidates what we had before.

Not that I�m sure what difference that makes.

Shut the fuck up, Jennifer. It�s just not worth it.

Why play with fire?

I need to be done with this for now, I think. I�m not sure I was ready to talk to the Artboy.

*****

Betsy, the Boyfriend�s mom, called me a little while ago. She invited me to come to her house on Thursday. A woman she knows is coming over to do a tarot reading night. I�ve never had my cards read before. I�m intrigued, but a little frightened.

My mom is freaked. She doesn�t want me to go. She has this solid belief that you shouldn�t play with things like that.

Of course, I�m going to go anyway. Betsy promised that the woman only gives positive readings. That she either blocks or just doesn�t report out the bad stuff. She also told me that the woman "saw" me coming into the Boyfriend�s life a long time ago�even saw our breaking up and coming back together.

Weird.

I�ll give a full report next Friday.

*****

So I�m on my way to my Nana�s tonight. She, my mom and I are going to a distant relative�s funeral tomorrow morning. Doris died Monday. She was 97�a bitter old biddy right to the end. It means a lot to my grandmother that we go, though, and it�s awfully hard to say no to her these days, so�off I go.

Have a good weekend, Diaryland.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Toilet bowl blues and wedding news | Decisions, decisions, decisions >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona