You have to admit it's getting better
2001-02-07 - 22:30:29

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I didn't want to head off to bed and leave such a glaring front of negativity on the "newest entry" page, so I came back in to offer up some positive energy.

Within moments of my posting my last entry, I received emails from two of my friends, people I have given knowledge of this URL, offering words of encouragement and offers of soup and tissues without big long visits. Funny thing, they're two of the only people I'd like to spend some time with right now! I love you both, and you know who you are...

I shared my ride down to the lobby in the elevator this afternoon with a couple expecting their first child. They were around my age and completely oblivious to my presence, being instead so wrapped up in conversation about their child-to-be. They were talking about names for the baby. It was a sweet moment.

Once in the lobby, I was stopped from exiting the building by a call of "Hi Jay!" to my right. No one but my family and my oldest, dearest friends calls me Jay. I turned to find Steve, one of my mom's friends and a fixture from my childhood, standing near the door. His dad had hernia surgery in my building today. He and his mom had come downstairs for a cup of coffee while his dad finished his post-op treatment.

Steve was at the wake and the funeral last week, so there was no need for the whole "this is what's been happening in my life" thing. Instead, I just got a hug and a few encouraging words. By the time I set out for my bus stop, I felt better.

I came home and talked to my mom for about 40 minutes. She, the Boyfriend and I are planning a trip in March. He and I will drive her to Rochester, NY, where a close family friend is now living. We'll all spend a night there, then he and I will leave Mom there and head to Toronto for two days so I can indulge my Lush habit. Then we'll drive back to Rochester, spend another night and all three of us will head back to Boston. I'm excited about this trip. And yes, I know it's a long way to go for bath products, but they're so worth it!

Anyway, Mom and I talked and planned, and then the Boyfriend and I talked and planned, and it was just good conversation about happy things, so I hung up in a good mood.

Then I cleaned out the pantry and put three bags of newspapers out for the recycling truck. That fulfilled my need to be productive for the night.

The rest of it I spent with a cup of chamomile tea and Ivan Sergei.

So my head's stuffy. My life is pretty good regardless.

G'night, Diaryland.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Computer blues and a runny nose | All skate, and all skate slowly >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona