Fortune Cookie wisdom
2001-03-01 - 15:37:40

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Once again, "Brass Monkey" is on the radio. I cannot escape the Beastie Boys.

Thank you, Sculptor, for your affirmation entry. I agree with you�it could definitely be worse!

I met the Boyfriend after work last night to go to Corners and frame the photo I gave him for Christmas. I really love this photograph. It was taken by a Cape Cod photographer of the Chatham boathouse at Dawn. The boathouse itself is dark, but the windows show a bright orange light from the rising sun. The water and sky are gorgeous shades of pink, orange, gold, purple and blue. The frame we chose is the same deep blue as part of the sky, with gold hints throughout. It�s perfect, really. Perfect enough that I�m not even resentful about the 77 dollar check I wrote out before we left. This is the discount framing place price, too. I can�t imagine what it would have cost me somewhere else.

After we chose the frame, we went to Great Chow for udon noodles with beef and Chinese vegetables and Chinese broccoli with hoisin sauce (I think it�s really funny that their website has a printable coupon that expired in 1997, by the way�).

I�ve only been to Great Chow one other time. The Boyfriend and I had dinner there almost two years ago. He was getting ready to move into his own apartment from his mom�s house. It was right before we stopped speaking altogether. We�d been kissing on the couch in his mother�s living room for way too long to be comfortable, when he suggested dinner. I think we ordered the exact same thing then that we did last night, but all I really remember about sitting in the restaurant was wondering how I could possibly just walk away from him, even for the promise of the Artboy�s eternal devotion.

After dinner, he took me to see the new apartment. It was in a building owned by his grandfather, and he and his dad were remodeling the whole thing before he moved in. At that point, it was full of painting supplies and one kitchen chair. He took me on a tour. In the darkness of the kitchen, we started kissing again. We ended up naked and barely balanced on the chair.

Later that night, I got out of his truck and drove home. We didn�t see each other again for another seven and a half months.

Sitting in the same dining room last night, the Boyfriend asked me if I remembered eating there before. We talked a little about that night and how off-center we both were then. He told me that, as much as he may have wanted it, if someone had told him then that we�d be back there last night, almost two years later, together and talking about planning a future together, he�d have laughed at the suggestion.

Sometimes, I marvel at the way things have worked out.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Somehow, flossing goes round to Nana | Three-way action >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona