Tough afternoon
2001-03-14 - 16:53:16

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Woo hoo! I got a pledge! Thanks, Sue, for making my whole day!

You can pledge me, too, if you want.

(The reason I�m collecting pledges)

Having a difficult afternoon. I actually started off this morning crying. I got up early to do some my laundry, as the Boyfriend plans to stay at my house tonight, and I wanted to be sure he had clothes to wear to work tomorrow. I was standing in front of the dryer, folding my light load, when I pulled out the pajamas Nana gave to me for Christmas.

She bought them through some mail order company. They aren�t something I would ever have chosen for myself, very pink and girly, but they�re the softest clothes I own, and I love them regardless of their pastel colors. The first time I wore them, I called her to tell her how much I loved them and how comfortable they are. My phone call made her cry.

I was folding them, thinking about Christmas, and how amazing it was that she came to my mom�s for the night, and that we got to spend it together like we did. Mom, David and I gave her real gifts, gifts that showed we thought (hoped) she�d be here for a long time. The locket Mom and I agonized over picking out, with Papa�s pictures inside. A �Welcome� sign for her kitchen, decorated with irises. A Boyd�s Bears snow globe for her Christmas decoration collection. The stupid Healing Angel I hunted for. Never once, while we were shopping, did it occur to me that she�d only have another month.

Christmas wasn�t that long ago. She was good that day, and happy. I don�t know if she knew (thought) it would be her last Christmas with us, but if she did, she didn�t let on. It was a day of hope.

It�s hard for me to believe that I�m sitting here on March 14 and that she�s been gone now for over six weeks. That she�s really and truly gone. That if I call her house, I�ll get Diana instead of her.

The weekend we were up there, the weekend of the Month�s Mind Mass, I walked into the house and forgot that she wouldn�t be in the kitchen.

Last Saturday, the Boyfriend and I walked into a card store in Toronto, looking for a birthday card for Judy. I found a neat card with teacups on the front of it and picked it up to buy for Nana without even thinking. I was halfway to the register before I realized I couldn�t send it.

Mom got a card in the mail today from my cousin Judy. Just after New Year�s, Mom, Nana and I went to a memorial service for Judy�s mother-in-law. While we were up there visiting after the service, Judy�s daughter Donna asked if I would take a picture of her with Judy, my mom and Nana. Judy mailed Mom a copy of the photo today. It�s the last picture anyone took of Nana. Mom says she looks happy in it.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Walking for a cause | Vampire college men in drag >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona