The source of that headache is up for discussion
Monday, March 19, 2001 - 04:38 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

(hey--the D-land clock is fixed!)

Y�all crack me up. Yes, I know it�s almost 4:00 on Monday. It�s been a busy day. But the email saying �Don�t�cha love us anymore, Jennifer?� was a nice touch.

Someone found my Jamie-the-Take-Your-Pants-Off-Man story by searching �Take your pants off� on a search engine called �Virtual Fish�. Weird.

I�m battling a headache today. It�s hovering over my right eye, taunting me. It shunned my lunch and ignored my Advil. It doesn�t know I�ve got the secret weapon in my bag, though, should it try to reach its full migraine potential. I�ll show it. I�ll stab myself in the leg!

I�ve only had to do this once so far, last August. My headache got so bad I resorted to the Imitrex injectable my doctor prescribed for me. Within 20 minutes, my migraine was completely gone. Of course, within that 20 minutes, I still vomited, but it was better than vomiting and still having the headache. The Boyfriend hopes I don�t have to use the Imitrex pen without him, though�he�s fascinated by the whole �stab yourself in the leg� thing. This worries me slightly.

Feeling tired at the end of my Monday. I spent Saturday at a Longaberger training meeting with my mom. Since Judy moved to Rochester, I�ve become the other half of her Longaberger sales team in a lot of ways. One of those ways involved spending six hours in a little restaurant function room learning about ways to increase bookings and help your hostesses get bigger sales. It was a long day. Then I headed out with the Boyfriend to watch all his friends get shitfaced and behave badly.

The Boyfriend doesn�t drink at all (his mom is a recovering alcoholic�sober 15 years and counting), and I drink very little (low tolerance, high vomit rate), so nights spent in the bar are much less fun for us. His friends all seem to think they need to drink enough to make up for our lack of beers. And the drunker they get, the raunchier the conversation gets. By the end of the night Saturday, some poor girl�s camera had shots of several sets of male genitalia, taken right in the middle of the bar. Can�t wait �til she gets those developed.

As a good balance, we spent a good part of yesterday at Carla�s, celebrating her birthday. Carla and I have been friends for so long that I truly don�t remember not knowing her. We used to roller skate in her basement together, playing waitress with pens and paper we stole from her dad�s office supplies. We were two years apart all through grade school, which kept our circles of friends very separate, but we spent enough non-school time together that our friendship survived. These days, she�s truly the person in the world who knows me best, who understands both the things I say and the things I can�t manage to put into words, who can read me without my even saying a thing. I know she�s reading this, and it probably embarrasses her a little bit, but I�m going to say it all anyway! She is my best friend, and I can�t imagine my life without her. She�s the kind of friend who makes you feel good about yourself. I am very lucky to have her.

So yesterday was her birthday, and we spent it at her house with her and her husband and their son, a friend of hers from school and the friend�s husband, and my mom. Pete, Carla�s husband, made us all very yummy breakfast, and some kick-ass mimosas (all that said about me and alcohol, I find it hard to resist champagne and OJ!). Everyone else left but the Boyfriend and I stuck around until late in the afternoon (I�m still not sure we didn�t outstay our welcome), talking about everything and nothing. I�m sad that they don�t live 15 minutes down the street from me any more. I�d like to spend every weekend like that!

Of course, from there we went to Betsy�s (the Boyfriend�s mom) for dinner. Some social events are better than others. I got my good part of the day early on.

I really do like the Boyfriend�s family. I just think his mom�s�well�overpowering. She uses her kids as a replacement for the husband she doesn�t have any more. This really can�t be healthy for any of them. I�m very careful what I say, though. I don�t want to make myself the bad guy, or the odd man out here. So far, she thinks I�m a wonderful addition to her son�s life. I hate to think of how she�d behave if she hated me.

Driving home, I was listening to the Monsters of Rock CD I borrowed from Pete (hey, Argyle�this means your tape is much closer to on the way!). Poison and Great White, turned way up on the stereo. �We�re Not Gonna Take It� at top volume. L.A. Guns on the highway. Life got much better.

Scary that the antidote to the overpowering future Mother in Law appears to be 80�s hair bands. I should examine that further.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Men might not be from Mars, but I'm certain this one is from somewhere else sometimes | Mouse Tale >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona