Overextended
2001-05-29 - 2:27 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Sunday, I sat down with my mom to try and set a date for brunch with her high school friend Paula. Paula lives in a converted warehouse loft space downtown, and is the coolest lawyer I know. We�ve been talking about the three of us getting together for some quality eating and shopping time, and Paula called her Saturday to pin us down.

I opened my calendar and filled in the commitments I�d made that weren�t yet written down.

Then I laughed.

I have plans on June 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 23, 24, 24, 26, 28, 29 and 30. And the month hasn�t even started yet.

Oh, and June 2nd. We�re going to brunch this Saturday.

No wonder I�m so tired!

The Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays in there are training classes at BARCC. Orientation is tonight.

I�m feeling less certain about committing to summer training than I was when I first spoke to their volunteer office. If I don�t go through the summer training, my June busy days number 22 to 13.

I�m torn about this. One one hand, I really do want to go through the training and become a volunteer. On the other, I�m feeling a little overwhelmed by the enormity of my to do list over the next month and a half.

I counted out my vacation time this morning, too. I accrue 4.932 hours of Earned Time (ET) every week that goes into a bank. All my time off�holidays, vacation, sick days, personal days�comes out of the ET bank.

Counting what I�ll earn between now and September, then subtracting the time that I�m going to Ohio with my mom (for the Longaberger Bee) and the week that the Boyfriend wants to go to Disney, I�ll have 3.302 hours left in my bank when we return from Florida.

That�s assuming I use no time other than those to trips and one day for the 4th of July.

This has a huge effect on my enthusiasm toward tying up five weeks� worth of Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Of course, attending the orientation doesn�t bind me to the training.

I�m sure I�ll have a better feeling for it tomorrow.

Thursday night, the Boyfriend and I are going to see the Artboy�s band play. I had an email in my inbox this morning from Clay, one of the other band members, telling the band�s mailing list that they�re on the bill at the Linwood Friday night. Another old acquaintance of mine, Duncan, is also on the bill, doing some spoken word. I love listening to Duncan. I want the Boyfriend to hear him, too. This will be his first introduction to spoken word.

(The secret part is, Diaryland�the part that only you know�that I may do a little spoken word myself at some point soon. It�s still in the works, but it could happen. So it�s important to me that the Boyfriend has some sort of clue what it is.)

Anyway, so we�re headed to the Linwood to hear the band play. I just found out today that they play in makeup. If you want to see their website, email me. I don�t really want to post it, as I don�t want to link my diary to the band in any way�that could get messy. But I�d be happy to share. It�s really kind of funny.

The Boyfriend closes on the old condo today. In fact�the closing should be starting right now. Scary, scary, scary!

Off to do some more PINNACLE work. I should be done soon. I�m counting the minutes.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Pinnacle and burning cities | Orientation >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona