New Year, New Me, or Something Like That
January 05, 2005 - 11:26 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Yep, it's me. With a real entry, no less. Or, at least what passes for a real entry today.

It's snowing out, and this complicates things. I hate driving in the snow, especially since the Husband and I switched cars. He now drives the Nanamobile to work, as it costs less than half in gas each week to take it instead of the Isuzu, but that means that Will and I are left with the Rodeo. I really, really hate driving the Rodeo. My sight lines aren't nearly as clear in it as they are in a normal-sized car. I'm not sure how that makes it safer, but it's an argument I'll never win. On the upside, it has a kick-ass stereo in it, which the Nanamobile certainly does not, and which was thoroughly wasted on the Husband, who listens to "Easy 99.1" in the car all the time. So Will and I, in the 50 or so miles we drive around each week, take the Rodeo and deal with it. At least we're not switching the car seat around any more. That's a plus.

And I'm all for finding the plus this week. Bad news abounds on the house front, as far as my mom is concerned (and consequently, as far as our house becoming ours again is concerned, too). As the result of some either miscommunication and bad weather or blatant outright lying, it doesn't appear that the connections from the utilities, which are buried beneath the street, and her house, which is half-finished on the lot next door, will be done until at LEAST April 15. This means that the house won't be finished until, well, optomistically the end of May. This is not good on many fronts, but most of all, it's just depressing as hell. The house is the great big white elephant sitting on the lawn. She doesn't want to talk about it--doesn't want to look at it. And I can't say that I blame her. We're now four months beyond the first date, two months beyond the second, and a month beyond the third, which seemed somewhat likely four months ago. And we're talking about at LEAST another four months to go.

This is so not good.

But, as it's truly beyond our control, we attempt to make the best of it.

Smiles, everyone. Smiles.

In other news, because that didn't make us cranky enough, my mom and I are both on the South Beach Diet as of this past Monday. I am going through sugar withdrawal in a HUGE way! But this morning, I stepped on the scale and found that I weighed less than 150 pounds for the first time since I was about six months pregnant. The list of what I can eat for the next two weeks is pretty slim. I'm looking forward to the beginning of week three, when I can add back in bread, fruit, pasta (whole wheat only), oatmeal, and popcorn. I never thought I'd be looking forward to oatmeal!

I need to fit into my damn dress for Amy's wedding. That's pretty much the goal. And I have three months to do it. I also have my yearly GYN appointment a month from today, and it would be really, really good to have lost the remaining 13 (now 10!) pounds of baby fat I'm still carrying around. I'm not even thinking about the fact that when I weighed myself on Monday, I was a full 25 pounds heavier than I was on our wedding day two and a half years ago.

The GOOD thing is that I've got plenty to do to keep me from thinking about food. The Husband and I sat down the other night and created a list of things that need to be done in the house daily, weekly, and monthly, as well as a "projects" list and a short-term "to do" list. It was an effort on my part to both create some structure in Will's and my days and even up the balance of responsibility in the household.

The Husband seems to have decided that since he went back to work, anything that falls under the heading of "housecleaning" is my domain, since I'm home all day. He forgets, though, that I'm also taking care of our son, working a nine-hour day on Tuesday, doing transcription about six hours a week, and filing on the weekends in the office where my mom works. It's not like I'm resting on my laurels, eating bonbons (especially these days! Unless bonbons is a code word for eggs and cheese sticks) all day. So in hopes of making him understand what it is I do and keeping him alive to see another day, the List has been born.

It's not a new year's resolution. It's a goal. You can't break a goal--it's a work in progress.

Carla, you'll be happy to know that on the "weekly" list is "See Carla and Ella." It's a goal, too.

We took Will to Edaville Railroad this weekend to ride the train and see the lights. He loved the train and the light displays, as well as the maze and the horsy-tire swings in the children's playground. He was less sure of the carousel. I understand that. Made me dizzy as hell.

It was nice to bring him somewhere other than the grocery store, expose him to something other than a shopping trip. It was good, too, to do something as a family, just the three of us. We don't get to do that that often. Another goal.

And now, I'm off to take a shower and attempt to wash the crusty graham cracker (thank you, Will) off my eyebrow. happy Wednesday, all. And happy new year!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (1 people have spoken already)

< With apologies to Clement C. Moore | Playing in the Snow! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona