It's those changes in latitude, changes in attitude
2001-09-03 - 2:58 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Okay, kids, this is my last entry before I head off to play with Mickey and Minnie for a week! Doesn't seem possible that our vacation is here finally, but the calendar doesn't lie!

It will be nice to get a break, to get the hell out of Dodge for a few days, no one but the Boyfriend to worry about. This will be our first airplane trip together. Actually, it will be the first airplane trip I've ever taken with someone I'm dating. Odd how it just never came up before.

Spent most of today at my desk, trying to accomplish a few projects I didn't quite finish last week, what with all the time I spent staring at my ring and all ;) Now I can go away with a clear conscience and not worry about what my desk will look like when I get back, which is good. A MUCH better feeling.

I'm minutes away at this point from turning 31. It's an old-sounding age. Not that I feel any older. I was watching the new students carry their crap into the Mass Art dorm right near my bus stop this morning and thinking that I don't feel that much older now than I did when I first arrived at Gordon, although that was, at this point, 13 years ago. I'm four years shy of being twice the age I was that first day in my dorm room. Weird. ALthough, when I think about all the things I've done since then, I guess it doesn't really seem that long. It's all relative...

It's been a nice birthday so far, I have to admit. The Boyfriend and I stopped at his friend Joe's house yesterday for a barbecue, where I received a surprise cake and a rousing rendition of "Happy Birthday." This was totally unexpected. Made me feel good. These people are all a part of my life now, and have accepted me as part of theirs. Even made me overlook the fact that there were thirth THREE candles on the cake!

We left the barbecue early to head to my mom's for family birthday dinner. A big crowd this year--Mom and David, Kristy and Dave, Jay, Judy (who was visiting from Rochester), the Boyfriend's mom and dad, Chris the roommate, the Boyfriend and me. Overall, it was an exceptionally good night.

I say overall, because there was one weird part...

The Boyfriend hadn't yet asked Jay to be in the wedding, mostly because he hasn't really seen him much, and not at all when there wasn't a huge crowd of people around. But yesterday found the two of them alone in the backyard for a few minutes, so the Boyfriend took the opportunity and asked. And Jay declined.

The Boyfriend didn't know what to say. He'd never considered a flat-out "no" response. It turned into an akward moment, and they both just walked away. The Boyfriend came inside and told me and my mom while we were setting the table.

At first, I was angry and hurt. Now, I'm mostly just a little hurt. David said that when Kristy got married, Jay initially said no to her, too, and she had to talk him into it. Won't happen here. We won't ask him twice. The last thing I want is for him to say yes out of guilt or obligation. I'd rather he just not be a part of it.

The weird part now, though, is that everyone in my family will have a role in the wedding except Jay. Mom, David and Kristy will all be involved. It makes him the odd-man-out, albeit by choice, but still...My first instinct was to try and find him a different role, but now I feel like no matter what we ask, he'll still say no.

I'd like to be able to say, "Whatever. His loss. Next issue..." but it's hard.

I admit it. My feelings are hurt. I thought we'd hit a point where family meant more than that.

Oh well, not going to let it ruin my vacation! Signing off to go home and pack and play with the new stuff I got as presents last night. Sadly, there will probably be more packing than playing involved, but I'm sure I can sneak in some of both!

Have a lovely week, y'all! I'll be back on the 13th!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< checking in! | Reflective mood >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona