55 Days is a LOOOONG Time between entries!
May 26, 2004 - 1:27 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

55 days. That's a long, long time. And not so long. At least, it doesn't feel like that long since I sat down to do this last...

WIll is growing, it seems daily. His six-month appointment clocked him at 16 pounds, 14 ounces and just over 26 inches tall. That was two weeks ago, and I'm estimating that he's gained a pound since then. "Solid" food has entered his repertoire, if you can call rice cereal, yogurt and pureed fruit solid. The occasional baby cookie, cracker or cheeto (thanks, Nana) sneaks its way in there, too. I'll post a new photo soon, so that you all can tell me I have the most adorable baby in the world, but I need my own computer to do that, and at the moment, I'm typing this on the Husband's. We've become a two-computer family. They sit, side by side, on our desk. Poor iMac. It looks so dejected right now, all off and not internet-ready and stuff. Soon, my pet, we'll get a router and you'll be raring to go again, I promise!

Construction on my mom's house hasn't started. Her architect is a pain in the ass. This is what happens, I guess, when you hire friends to do things. He promised her the plans will be in Jay's hands on June 7th. That's not so far away. But it is two months after he originally promised them. That part sucks.

The Husband is still looking for a job. This has reached the really depressing level. I actually sat and thought the other day about going back full-time, but...leaving Will with his daddy all day is cruel and unusual punishment for both of them. He wasn't cut out to be Mr. Mom. And that's okay. But he needs to get a job soon. ANy job. He had an interview a couple weeks ago that seemed really promising. THEY sought him out, after finding his resume on Monster, and pursued him hard. But in the end, they hired someone else, and we aren't sure if the damn Big Financial Corporation didn't have something to do with that. It appears that one of the new company's old employees went to work in the Husband's old group at BFC. We think one of the people he interviewed with may have called her to get the gossip from his old workplace about why he left. I'm no lawyer, but if that isn't illegal, it's at the very least unethical.

So...in the meantime, he looks and hopes and waits. ANd I encourage and support and remind him daily that he'd really hate being a real estate agent, because if he follows through on his backup plan of going to work for his mother, I just might implode. That's more Betsy than anyone needs.

Grr. Arrgh.

I remember when I used to write thoughtful, philosophical entries. THat was a long time ago.

It may appear again, though. Thanks to my new best friend, Dr. Richard Ferber, and his book, Solving Your Child's Sleep Problems, Will is *mostly* sleeping through the night. Last night, he went down at 8:30 and slept to 8:00 this morning. I had to go in and make sure he was still breathing. That's the longest he's gone. It was heaven. I felt human this morning. Sleep is good.

It was odd, though. Because HE slept, we ALL slept. I woke up at 7:45 to a quiet house. No Will noise. NO Husband noise. No Nana noise. I wanted to make sure they were ALL breathing.

Mom has some kind of...allergies? Cold? Flu? Pnumonia? Not sure, but she's had no voice for going on two weeks now, hacking and coughing and feeling lousy all the way. She took a full course of Zithromax--didn't touch it. I insisted that she call her doctor tomorrow (he's out on Wednesdays), because I'm really worried about her, even if she doesn't take it seriously.

I told the Husband that last night, I got this terrible feeling of dread about her being sick, like it was going to turn out to be something serious. Not for any discernable reason, other than that she continues to feel crappy. But I had the thought, and I hate to even type it out, it's so bad--I had this sudden feeling that if she DIDN'T get checked out, something horrible was going to happen to her. I actually thought, "They haven't started building her house yet because she'll never live in it."

COnfidence building thoughts, let me tell you.

A little bit of that dread has stuck with me all day today, so I've INSISTED that she call her doctor tomorrow. None of the rest of us appear to have caught whatever she has, but that doesn't mean it's nothing. I told her she has to take better care of herself, because I can't afford to lose her. I'm not sure she's taking me seriously enough.

I guess this is what happens after you lose so many people you love. You start to micromanage the ones you've still got.

On a MUCH brighter note, I found a long-lost friend this week on Friendster. She and I went to church camp together in high school, and I haven't seen her since. These days, she's becoming quite a famous artist in NYC. She's had art exhibited all over the world, won all sorts of awards, including being on both the "100 most influential people in their fields" list and the "top 35 under 35" list, taught at NYU, patented an invention, started a company...SHe's been busy! ANd it was wonderful to find her. Yay Camille!

I'm off to start dinner for my little family. Not sure yet what it's going to be, but dinner will be forthcoming nonetheless. I've missed you, Diaryland--I won't wait another two months!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Home is where, when you go there, they have to take you in | Thank you, Matthew Shepard >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona