Of Mice and Mom
2002-02-01 - 10:46 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Okay�first off: Amelie? LOVED it!!! Truly. What a sweet and charming movie! I left the theater in an incredibly good mood, then went home and called the Boyfriend and told him I wanted to go see it again with him. Go see it, if you haven�t already. Really.

Anyway�in the rest of the world�

I came in at 7:30 this morning, sort of a �trial run� for next week. I�ve been up at 5:30 (or so) since Wednesday. It�s not too bad, once I get past that initial getting out of bed part. Actually, my bus ride at 6:45 was much faster than it is at 7:45, and I went door to desk in 35 minutes. Not a bad thing at all!

Donna did answer my email from yesterday, saying that she thought scheduling a followup for the end of April was a good idea and thanking me. This is a good thing. She�s out today. This is maybe also a good thing. It means that I will actually get to leave at 4 today. I�m not on 10-hour days yet!

I can go home and clean my room with that hour. I need that, too, because there is a

MOUSE

in my bedroom last night. Again.

I had called the boyfriend when I got home from the movie, talked to him for a few minutes, then turned off my light and settled down to go to sleep. Just as I was drifting off, I heard the telltale rustling sound coming from the area near the doors that lead into the living room, the only place I ever find the damn furry things. I went over with my flashlight, peeked around, moved the stack of magazines that lives under the bookshelf with my toe, and BAM, the mouse went running, out from behind the shelf, across my room and under my bed.

This wasn�t what I wanted. I couldn�t sleep with a mouse UNDER MY BED!!!

I pulled on my bathrobe just in case my wanderings brought Chris out of his room, walked out to the pantry and removed the electronic Mousy-Be-Gone ultrasonic thingamabob that lives there so I could plug it in next to my bed. Apparently, it emits a sound that mice can�t handle, so they exit stage left when exposed to it. I know the mouse won�t head into the pantry until spring anyway�it�s not insulated in there, and might as well be a second refrigerator�so I didn�t feel bad about taking the MBG over. I plugged it in right next to my nightstand and aimed it at the underbed area, turned the TV on with the timer set for an hour, and settled back down to try and get some sleep, leaving my door open just a crack to try and �encourage� the mouse out the door.

I didn�t hear him again.

Tonight, everything comes off the floor. I don�t want those mice to have a place to hide. Not in my bedroom, anyway.

The Boyfriend is supposed to meet me at the apartment tonight. We�re heading off to dinner at Centre Street (yay! I sense a pear walnut salad in my future!), and then going to my mom�s for the night.

I called the house this morning and found her very weepy again. She was changing her sheets. It�s the first time she�s changed them since David died. I know it�s gone against her grain totally to have left them there this long (she�s one of those every-Sunday-whether-they-need-changing-or-not people), but she hasn�t been able to bear the thought of washing away whatever of him is left.

I understand. She said, �it�s stupid.� I told her it wasn�t. She said, �I�m insane!� I reassured her she�s not.

Next Friday, I�ll have the whole day with her. And most other Fridays through the summer, anyway.

This is good.

Not that it brings David back, but it makes his not being here a little less sharp

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< It's been days since I complained about workplace stress! | No cute title for my mood today >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona