Otherwise Engaged
July 07, 2003 - 9:35 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I had a rare opportunity this weekend.

Saturday night, the Husband and I went to an engagement party for a very close friend of mine and his fiancee. Doesn't sound so strange, does it? That's because you haven't yet taken into account the fact that the groom-to-be is my high school boyfriend. And I couldn't have been happier for him, or more pleased to be there.

It's the first time I'd met Laura, and although I hadn't really conjured up a mental picture of what I expected her to look like, I have to say I was surprised to discover that she looks like Scott! Though people tell me all the time that the Husband and I look alike as well, so perhaps there's something to that old theory after all.

The party was fun. Everyone was in very high spirits. I saw relatives of his that I haven't seen in ages, including his mom, who gave me a huge hug and a warm welcome. She told me how wonderful she thought it was that Scott and I have remained friends for all these years, and told me that no matter what else happened in our lives, she thought we would always have "a special place in your hearts for each other." It was a really great conversation.

Seeing Scott happy and in love with someone who so obviously cares about him just as much was a good feeling, though I will admit that it was a little weird. Couldn't quite figure out why until today, when it finally dawned on me. He moved to California and out of my day-to-day. The times I've seen him since then have been back here, at home, mostly on my turf. He met the Artboy (I think he did, anyway--once or twice), visited the JP apartment on a few occasions, participated in a couple Buffy nights, met the Husband while he was still the Boyfriend, came to the wedding. My life is something he's drifted in and out of for years. His life--it's all been on the West Coast. This is the first time since we broke up that I've EVER seen him with someone else.

I say it was odd, but not in a disturbing way. It actually made me very reminiscent, to the point where I dug out the Photo Box and mentally went where I haven't in ages. Time brings us to different places, but memory holds on to good, good things. Thinking about what now amounts to ancient history made me smile. We drove each other crazy, but he taught me how to love someone else in a way that wasn't totally about me, and I wouldn't be who I am today without that.

Besides, kissing him was really fun :)

(And yes, Scott, that was for you!)

So--we went, we ate, we drank, I reminisced with the couple other people there from our high school class. I raised my glass to the happy couple and wish them nothing but the best. She's a lucky girl.

Hope you both enjoy the next few months, Scott! May life bring you lots of good things!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (1 people have spoken already)

< A Deering Plea | Odd Dreams and Baby Kicks >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona