I scream, you scream
2001-07-25 - 4:45 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

We got free ice cream sandwiches at work today. Apparently, the hospital won some kind of an award, so they gave away ice cream to all the employees to celebrate. No complaints here. Free ice cream is always good, regardless of the reason behind it!

I stopped in our cafeteria this morning in search of some breakfast. After rejecting all the cereal choices, I approached the cashier with a cranberry juice (I refuse to let that icky feeling I experienced this morning turn into another UTI), a banana and a small container of peanut butter. The cashier, a girl I�ve never seen before instead of one of the two women who have been there every other day of the six and a half years I�ve worked here, rang up my items, told me I owed her two dollars and thirty cents and took my twenty dollar bill. She handed me back seventy cents, a five and a ten.

I looked down, counted, realized her mistake and waited for her to finish her next transaction. �Excuse me, but you gave me the wrong change,� I said.

�No, I didn�t,� she countered.

�Umm�my breakfast came to two dollars and thirty cents. I gave you a twenty. You gave me back fifteen dollars and seventy cents.�

�Yes?�

�Well, you owe me two more dollars.�

We stared at each other for a moment. The line behind me grew. I wasn�t being rude. I wasn�t being unreasonable. I recounted in my head. Yep, the money she gave back to me only totaled eighteen dollars. I wasn�t crazy!

Finally, she opened the register, sighed and handed me two dollars.

I still don�t understand what happened there.

I want to say a big thank you to all the people who have emailed me and/or signed my guestbook over the past couple weeks, offering me support in my BARCC endeavors. Many of you have thanked me for sharing my story. I wish it were just my story. But as your words have shown, it�s not JUST my story, but the story of so many women. It�s good to hear so many people talk about it.

Breaking the silence is such a good thing!

(On top of which, I must admit, the attention hog in me loves hearing from you all.)

Pedicure night tonight! Life is good!

Time to go home, kids! Have a good evening.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Almost full to capacity, thanks | >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona