boob shots for quick cash
2002-07-16 - 3:57 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

So I would have put up an entry yesterday, but I was busy showing my breasts for money.

No, I didn�t quit my job at the hospital to become an exotic dancer.

I participated in a clinical research study. One of the physicists in our department is creating a protocol for MRI breast imaging of women who�ve been treated for Hodgkin�s Disease, and as such shouldn�t be exposed even to the minimal radiation involved in a conventional mammogram. I spent an hour in the MRI machine with my hands above my head and my breasts in the specially designed coil (sort of like an MRI accessory. It looked sort-of like a two-slot egg carton, but open on the bottom. At the end, I signed the slip and will get an extra fifty bucks in my paycheck next week. Not a bad deal.

Charlie (the physicist who is developing the protocol) showed me the images when he was done. Pretty cool. I can now say I know the insides of my breasts intimately, fat pockets, blood vessels, lymph nodes and all. I also got to see my ribs, heart, liver and spine.

This is the third study MR I�ve done since I came to work here. The first was a knee, which I also got paid $50 for. The second was a brain scan, which I didn�t get paid for, but I got to see what my brain looks like, which was almost as cool as getting paid.

Today, I�m sitting at my desk, eating lemon pound cake. It�s left over from my shower on Saturday. What an incredibly wonderful day. And no, Carla, I�m not just saying that because I know you�ll be reading this! I really mean that. It was just�wonderful. The weather was perfect, the yard was beautiful, the food delicious. The party flowed with great ease, thanks to a ton of hard work from the bridal party, who all deserve incredible thanks and countless hugs and my endless gratitude. Well, almost all, anyway. I know the amount of work that went into the day weighed much heavier on some shoulders than on others (and on some barely at all). But I can safely say that they kept that stuff away from me. All I had to do was eat, open gifts and smile, and I did a lot of all three!

I don�t quite know what we�re going to do with all the stuff. My mom�s living room is overrun with gifts right now. Fabulous stuff. Including a cross-stitch made by Kristy, my step-sister, who arrived on time, worked the crowd (including all of Betsy�s friends) and then stayed through the end of the party into the let�s-sit-by-the-pool-and-eat-leftovers-and-talk-about-the-day part. The cross stitch, which reads �And their love grew like flowers in the garden� and has the Boyfriend�s and my names on the bottom, along with our wedding date, was an unexpected, heartfelt, incredible gift. So was the fact that when she was asked to write her relationship to me on her nametag (so other people would know how she was part of the crowd�others read �bridesmaid, friend of Jennifer�s since 3rd grade� and �I know Jennifer through church,� or, in the case of my mom�s old friend Lois�s son�s wife, �My husband slept with the bride��technically true, though we were eight and in bunk beds at the time), she wrote �sister of the bride.�

I guess she needs some family after all.

I�m going to attempt this week to learn how to use David�s digital camera with my computer and take some pictures of the Apartment before I pack everything up. If it works, perhaps I�ll post them.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< "I was a really bad boyfriend..." | Bad morning. No cookie. They're all for me! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona