In the movies, when the phone does that, the killer is always already in the house
2002-04-02 - 5:54 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

You want to win Diaryland Survivor. I mean you really, really, really, REALLY want to win it. Therefore you have decided that you must eliminate one of the other Survivors in order to clear your path to the top. The question is: who do you eliminate, why, and what method do you use? Damn, this immunity challenge is hard! Perhaps it�s the use of the word eliminate It sounds so�final.

Not ready to talk any more about that. You�ll have to wait �til tomorrow for my final word on�elimination. I do want to talk about DS3 a little more, though.

Here�s the thing. This is a game. It�s supposed to be fun. Unlike the contestants on the TV show, we aren�t deprived or displaced. There aren�t a lot of rules, and there aren�t a ton of expectations. Write your immunity challenges. Vote in the tribal councils. And update your diary. If you don�t update for ten days, you aren�t playing, and as such, shouldn�t really be surprised if you get voted off by those of us who are updating more often than that. I know I haven�t been the queen of updates lately�sometimes, life gets in the way of journaling. But dude, post a disclaimer, a couple lines, an �I haven�t disappeared� message, just so the same words don�t face your readers every single day. And if you can�t do that, don�t get pissy.

Okay, NOW I�m off my DS3 soapbox. On to other things.

Kristy, my stepsister, dropped out of the wedding. She and I talked for almost two hours on Thursday night. She�s a mess about David, and just couldn�t face the prospect of walking down the aisle. Oh, and then there�s the fact that she�s pregnant. Yep, that�s right�pregnant. She�s due in November. That might make the whole bridesmaid thing difficult, too�

She and Dave (Mr. Kristy) joined us for leftovers last night. Mmmm�Easter leftovers. I wish I had some of those Dorcas Do-Ahead Party Potatoes right now! Mashed potatoes with sour cream and cream cheese, spread into a baking dish, sprinkled with paprika and grated cheddar, then re-baked. Yum yum yum! I�d be happy to share the recipe�

Easter turned out to be a very good day. Mostly. With a few really difficult moments in the mix. There were 28 of us for dinner, a small crowd this year, at least for us. Everyone was loud and happy and hungry and in constant motion. It was good for us to be in the thick of it, I think.

Saturday, Diana came to help set up. We moved tables, set places, ate popcorn and talked far into the night. For a little while, I managed to forget how sad I�ve been.

The only down point of the night was discovering that the phone was broken. Or, at least, appeared to be broken. When we picked it up, there was a loud squealy noise, kind of like someone was holding down one of the buttons continuously. I called the phone company from Di�s cellphone and reported the problem. �Well, Jennifer, the tests do show that there�s a problem with the phone. I�ll put in a service call. Worst case scenario, we�ll have it fixed by Noontime Monday.�

Umm, Phone Guy? We have 28 people coming to dinner tomorrow. This might be a problem.

�Well, it probably won�t take that long. Depends on what kind of problem it is.�

Sunday morning, we picked up the phone. Same noise.

Around 12:30, our first dinner guests arrived, along with the Verizon repair man. He told us he�d take a look around outside and let us know what he found.

About ten minutes later, he reported back that the problem was definitely inside the house, possibly with one of the phones. Could we bring one of them out to the outside jack to test?

Mom reached for the phone next to her bed, then said, �Damn! All of our phones plug in! That won�t work!�

But wait, Mom�I�ll grab the phone in the attic. The old Princess one. That doesn�t plug in. We can test with that!

Two minutes later, I came downstairs, Princess phone in hand, looking rather shameful.

Apparently, a pile of stuff in the attic had fallen over, knocking the phone off the hook. The way it had landed, the stuff was holding the receiver down against the keypad, continually pressing in one of the buttons to create the evil squealy noise.

Sorry we dragged you away from your Easter dinner, Verizon Man, but we appear to be all set now. Thanks.

So it goes. The moral of the story, boys and girls? Don�t forget to check the phone in the attic!

Anyway�

The Boyfriend came up with a good theory. Perhaps it was protecting us from a call that would have come in otherwise. It�s a distinct possibility.

My Uncle Bill pulled me aside somewhere in the afternoon to tell me that he�d talked to Uncle Bobby the night before. Apparently, Bobby called him when he got my check and read my letter. I made him feel terrible. I made him cry. I made him consider just ripping up the check. I made him take back the horrible things he�d said about my family. I made him decide his family was important.

I so didn�t want to mail that letter with the check. I so wanted to just send it off on its own.

I hope this means that things will start to get a little better.

I notice, by the way, that he didn�t rip up the check. Apparently, that good feeling didn�t quite outweigh the thousand bucks.

Whatever. It�s only money. It certainly isn�t that important.

Not that I want to give out any more thousand dollar checks. Don�t stand in line or anything.

Tonight, I am again headed home for the first time since last Thursday. It will be the only night this week I spend in the apartment. I guess I ought to make it count.

Happy evening, all.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< I'll fight'cha with my left hand tied behind my back... | Baby steps to healthier living >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona