Phone crap and stupid movies
2002-02-27 - 5:52 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

A word to all the people out there who might be tempted to call my hospital, connect through to my desk and then ask for a member of our department by first name only--don't bother. I won't know who it is you're looking for, and I generally won't be able to find them. You need more information than that.

Actually, the phone has been the source of much amusement and frustration today. This morning, I had what might be my favorite work phone converation ever. I answered as I always do, saying, "Good morning, Radiology Administration." The rest of it went like this:

Caller: Uh, hi, Jennifer, um, I'm calling you because, I was given this number, I think you can help me, um, I've worked three weeks, the past three weeks, in CT, and I haven't gotten paid, and I don't know what to do about it, and I need to get paid, and I was supposed to ask Hal about it, but I guess he left, he quit, and so he told me to call you, and you should be able to help me.

Me: Uh...WHO am I talking with?

Caller: Oh, sorry, this is Frank.

Me: Frank, what's your last name?

Frank: Well, Frank is my nickname. My name is [unpronounceable and impossible to spell without assistance Chinese name].

Me: And you work at [My Hospital]?

Frank: No...I work at [Small Community Hospital in the Area].

Me: Oh. Well, you called [My Hospital]. I don't do payroll for you. You need to call someone at your OWN hospital for that.

Frank: Oh. Are you sure?

Please, God, just take me now...

I did manage to clean up a little last night post-Buffy. The Boyfriend wisely took refuge in the living room for about 20 minutes, until it was safe for him to hit the bed. I made myself stop and climb in next to him at 10, knowing that if I kept cleaning, I'd be beyond exhausted when my alarm went off at 5:15. He thought I was getting in and snuggling up because I was in search of (as my friend Scotty K used to say) a little somethin' somethin'. He was wrong. I was asleep within about three minutes of hitting the pillow.

This is bad. I think I can only play the overtired-and-depressed card for so long. Someone tell me, will my sex drive ever come back? Because right now, I don't even want to be touched. And this will quickly become a problem.

While we were watching Buffy last night, a commercial came on for 40 Days and 40 Nights. This has to be one of the stupidest movie premises ever. I commented loudly to that effect to Chris, Ilana and the Boyfriend. "This is silly! Forty days isn't going to kill anyone--it's not that long, and it isn't that difficult!" Chris said, "You've never been a teenage boy!" I replied, "yeah, but I know plenty of teenage boys who've gone longer than 40 days with no sex. Hell, I've caused teenage boys to go longer than 40 days without sex!"

The Boyfriend looked askance. "And it appears to be something she's proud of, everyone."

Umm...That wasn't meant as a personal attack...

And I'm out. Have a good night, kids!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< No meat and potatoes guy--just the meat | lunch with the artboy again >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona