The case of the missing friends, and a sad anniversary
January 14, 2005 - 1:11 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

The night that Chris came and celebrated Christmas with us, he happened to mention in passing that our friend Michelle's father had died in early December. This was a surprise to me--I didn't know he'd been sick, and I certainly hadn't heard that he had died. Since then, I've been meaning to send her a card, and this morning managed to pull one out of the card box, write it out, address it, and stamp it. Looking at the address, I realized that I wasn't sure if it was their current address or their old one, so I picked up the phone to call Steve and Erica, other mutual friends (and my old roommates) and Michelle's neighbors.

I waited while the call went through. Instead of a ring, I got that annoying mrrh mrrh MRRH noise. "The number you have reached, 508-xxx-xxxx, has been disconnected. No further information is available."

I checked the number and tried again. Same thing. I called information. There was no listing under Steve's name. No listing under Erica's. I hung up and called the Husband. "Steve and Erica have disappeared!" I told him. He suggested I try Erica's cellphone or Steve's work number.

I called Steve at work. He was surprised to hear from me.

"Well, I went to mail something to Michelle, but wanted to verify her address, so I tried your house and was told that your number had been disconnected."

Silence for a moment. Then, "Umm...I guess we didn't tell you that we moved."

It's not quite as bad as it sounds. They moved less than a month ago, right in the heart of the Christmas season. Life has been a bit crazy.

But it still illustrates WHY I feel so disconnected. WHY it was so important to me to reinstate the August Birthday Party. Why I'm so bummed that Thanksgiving didn't happen AGAIN this year. And why next year, Chris be damned, we're having a Christmas party here.

I don't want to lose my friends. And that is, quite literally, what happened here.

On a different note, today is the three-year anniversary of David's death. Doesn't seem possible that three years have passed without him. Time is running away.

Doesn't seem possible that after three years, it would still seem this jagged, or that I would still miss him this much.

If you'll all excuse me, I don't know that I feel like saying much more about this right now.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (2 people have spoken already)

< Breakfast, circa March 1998 | Peanut Butter Crisscrosses >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona