The new year brings on a new road!
2002-01-02 - 4:27 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Mmmm�sleepwalking through my day. I could have used another day in bed. This marks a full week that I�ve been so stuffy I�m hard to understand. My nose is permanently red, with dry tissue marks below it. The Boyfriend has taken to calling me �Snuffy� because of the constant sniffling noise I�ve been making. What a good time�

Anyway�enough complaining about that�

So�for the second year in a row, I managed to have a low-key, at-home new year�s eve. We had planned to go to Steve and Erica�s, but they�re both sick, and we aren�t sure they have the same sick as me, so we decided against cross-pollinating our germs. Instead, the Boyfriend and I went to dinner with Chris and a couple other friends at the Wonder Spice Caf�, a restaurant in Jamaica Plain I�d never been to before. After we ate, the Boyfriend and I said goodbye to the rest of the group, who set off toward the Brendan Behan Pub, and went home. By 10:00, I was back in my pajamas. We settled onto the couch with a bowl of kettle corn and watched Body Shots on Starz. I told the Boyfriend later that it was like watching an NC-17 after school special! After the movie, we watched the ball drop and went to bed. I was asleep before 12:30.

New Year�s Day proved just as eventful. We took a nap. I did some laundry. We left the house to go to the grocery store. Halfway there, the Boyfriend decided he needed to get his shoes for work today, so we set out for the Condo to pick them up.

Driving in to the complex, we noticed the multitude of cars parked along the entryway, where we�ve never seen cars before. �Must be some party!� I joked. A little further up, though, we passed the news trucks for Channel 25 and Channel 7, then noticed that there was no road. Right about then, the police stopped us.

The water main had broken in the road yesterday morning, causing huge flooding and road washout. A giant sinkhole in the center of the road made passage impossible. The police rerouted us through a different portion of the complex.

Apparently, the place had been without water all day, and the residents had been unable to drive through for hours. The only way out had been to walk.

SO very glad we spent NYE at my house!

The Condo, which is on the sixth floor, wasn�t affected directly, but the whole development is going to be a mess for a while.

We did manage, in the end, to get his shoes.


I�ve been reading through the resolutions other people have made, thinking about whether I want to make and/or post any this year. I�m still undecided on that. They seem silly, destined to fail. But perhaps, tomorrow, I�ll post some ideas for the new year.

Or I might be to busy meeting with Steve and Donna to discuss my review. Wish me luck, Diaryland!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< A quick word for New Year's Eve | Respect is in pretty short supply around here right now >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona