An expansion of sorts
2000-12-04 - 11:50:09

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

We are well into the plans for our office holiday party. Just like last year, I�m on the planning committee, and just like last year, I�ve done way more of the planning than I�m particularly comfortable with. The "committee" essentially consists of myself plus two other people in the department. Not sure how it becomes mostly me who�s working on it, but�so it goes. It�s a fun party. The department pulls out all the stops. I always have a good time. I�m looking forward to it.

Except for this one little thing.

I have apparently gained 15 pounds since last year�s party.

Now, I�m not fat. I�m a little out-of-shape (okay, truthfully, a lot out-of-shape), but I have a long way to go before I remotely resemble fat. There is, however, more of me in certain key areas than there used to be, and it�s enough more that my party clothes don�t quite fit right any more.

I was really hoping to avoid buying something new to wear this year, since I can�t afford it at all. With 40 people on my shopping list, a brand new computer in my living room, tuition looming on the horizon and a nice shiny new muffler system on my car, finances are a little tight right now, to say the least. And anything I buy right now will become my "fat dress" and I�ll never want to wear it again, which is enough to make me pause, even in days where my wallet is bigger than my waistline.

It wouldn�t be such a big deal, I suppose, if I hadn�t pulled out all the stops last year. It was the first year I�d planned the party, which made me feel hostessy, and I felt I should be especially dressed up. I found this incredible silver ballgown that made me feel like Audrey Hepburn. Ignoring the fact that it was about $200 above my dress budget, I bought it. I�ve now worn it to four formal occasions, and I�m not sorry at all. But I can�t wear it to this party again, and even if I could get away with the same-dress-two-years-in-a-row stigma, it�s a little tight through the belly right now anyway.

Part of me is considering the "lose-15 pounds fast" route. I hate that part of me.

The other part is saying "Fuck that�let�s just have ice cream for lunch and be done with it!"

I love that side of me.

What�s 15 pounds between friends?

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< I do--or, I would. I think. | Not worth the link it's printed on >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona