Should I wrap it and put it under the tree, to me from me?
2000-12-05 - 19:34:10

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

While we were out shopping the other day, I bought myself a present. I swore I wouldn�t, but it was a $6.00 gift, so I bought it in exchange for promising to bring my lunch one day this week. I actually make bargains like this with myself a lot. I can rationalize anything, given the time and background.

Anyway, I bought three postcards and three small Lucite frames to put them in. They�re to hang above my new work area I�m setting up in my room, so that I have a place to do all my schoolwork. The first one is green and says, �aspire� in big letters in the middle, and �Be a star. Make a difference. Expect success. Think big. Believe in you. Do what it takes. Go places. Get up early. Take charge. Stretch out. Use uncommon sense. Play to win. Be new and improved. Spring ahead.� in little letters in a box around the big word. The other two are set up the same way, but they say �bloom: Unlock your potential. Be playful. Make every moment count. Keep growing. Open up. Be positive. Drink the sky. Spread joy. Blossom. Partake of your life. Feel the sun. Think globally. Lend a hand. Seek knowledge.� And � Create: Loosen up. Learn from mistakes. Stamp out conformity. Think different. Add quality to time. Make your masterpiece. Do something you love. Color outside the lines. Find your passion. Try again and again.� on orange and green cards respectively. They�re sort of an �ABC� of not flunking out of school again. I know, I know, how very �Chicken Soup for the Soul� of me. Sometimes, I am a cheesehound. I know it. I�m okay with it.

I also bought a Christmas gift for the Artboy while I was out. I told myself that it was also for my workspace, but the truth is that I bought it for him. It�s a square black magnet that has an Oscar Wilde quote on it. The magnet reads, �Do one thing every day that scares you.� It�s advice I think we�d all be better off taking. And it something the Artboy tried to teach me for a long time, but that I refused to learn. Instead, I became slave to those fears and let them rule my life.

Not so any more.

Or, at least, I�m getting to a place where it isn�t so any more.

Man, I am afraid of going back to school.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< It's oh so quiet | I'm still home sick, dammit! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona