Greetings and salutations from a disjointed mind
2000-12-18 - 16:26:04

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

So I�ve spent my day actually doing some work, instead of writing a journal entry. It appears that I may have made it through my negative, hate-my-life stage. Like I said yesterday, I think a huge part of it was party stress. Part of me is very glad it�s over, although we did have a really good time. Most of the rest of the holiday season should be smooth sailing from here.

I went to see my neurologist this morning. Dr. Johns is my favorite doctor in the world. I have a huge doctor crush on him. I�d like to clone him and make him into my doctor for everything. Unfortunately, he�s just my neurologist, but given the choice, that�s not such a bad thing.

I get migraines. Really ugly, painful, make-me-vomit-and-not-be-able-to-see-straight migraines. I�d seen two other doctors before him, neither of whom helped me much. They gave me medication that didn�t work, and didn�t listen when I talked about why I thought it didn�t work. They rushed me out of their offices. They acted like they knew better than me what was good for me. I hated them.

The first time I met Dr. Johns, he spent an hour and 15 minutes with me. He actually listened to everything I said. He asked questions that made sense. He didn�t try to give me the "I�m the doctor, that�s why" speech. He gave me prescriptions for two different medications, one of which is an injectable, because he said that if my headaches made me vomit, it was no wonder the pills didn�t work�they never had a chance to get into my system! He also wanted to give me samples of another pill that works very early on in the headache, but he didn�t have the samples right there. I pointed out that since I work in the same building as his office, I�d be happy to come and get them later, but I�d be out of town for a few days, and would get them when I returned. Later that afternoon, he appeared at my desk. He�d walked the samples down himself because he wanted me to have them before I went away.

Have I mentioned how much I love my doctor?

We also had our administration holiday lunch today. Once a year, the docs spring for food for the whole admin. staff. This year, someone decided we should have barbecue. Ribs were a bad idea. The food tasted good, but we were all rather messy once we were done eating. I�m sure I still have sauce somewhere.

Part of me feels like I should try to write about my grandmother today, but I�m feeling too depressed about it. That might be a save-for-home entry, as writing it is likely to make me cry.

Dinner with my friend Carla, her mom and dad and my mom and stepdad tonight. That will be fun.

I�ve been thinking about asking my stepfather about going through the legal proceedings to make him legally my father. Adult adoption is a pretty simple procedure, really just a question of signing some papers. I haven�t figured out how to start that conversation, though. How do you ask someone a question like that? I�ve already talked to my mom about it, and she thinks it�s a great idea (not really a surprise there), but I�m just�I guess I�m nervous.

It would be a nice Christmas event, though.

I�m rather disjointed today. Tomorrow will be better, I think.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< And all is well with the world again... | Baby talk, part 1 >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona