And all is well with the world again...
2000-12-18 - 23:05:02

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Just a quick word before I head to bed. It's been a really nice weekend, and I hated to think of leaving my diary on such a sour note from Friday when I no longer hate the world and all...

The party was a huge success. All the hard work was worth it. By total coincidence, I got chosen (by raffle ticket) to be queen of the Snowball, and got to wear a lovely tiara all night. The Boyfriend and I stayed in the hospitality suite (a $175/night room with an incredible view of the harbor) and got our parking comped, too, thanks to the power of the expense account. And not to go too far into the world of TMI, but all those things they say about oysters being good for your sex life--I'm pretty sure they're true! So in the end, it was a really great party. And the rest of the weekend followed suit. And I remembered something important.

I have a terrible case of major event stress. Whenever something like this happens and I'm responsible for the planning in any way, I freak out to the point where I hate my life, especially whomever I might be dating at the time. Steve reminded me the other day of a time a couple years ago when we were getting ready for a big Halloween masquerade party at the Artboy's house. We were out looking for masks the day of the party, and I was flipping out. Somewhere over the course of the afternoon, I decided unshakingly that the Artboy was sleeping with someone else. He wasn't, of course (not at that point, anyway), but I was so sure of it that by the time we got to the party, I was pissed at him beyond belief. He didn't have a chance--the deck was stacked against him. So Steve did what all good friends would do in a situation such as this--he made up a little song that went "Need more wine, need more wine, leedaleet, leedaleet!" and sang it to me repeatedly as he refilled my glass again and again. By the third glass, I loved everyone again.

Luckily, I didn't need to get shitfaced to get through this one.

I got to meet the Boyfriend's boss's boss (Carl) yesterday, too. He invited us to a party at his house, but the Boyfriend waited until Friday well into the party to mention it to me (smart move!). We went to his house and ate pasta with all the Big Financial Company higher-ups. Me, I made friends with Carl's 3-year-old daughter and hung out upstairs with all the kids in the closet, reading Blue's Clues books. Hey, I kept the kiddies quiet for half an hour. All the parents wanted to make me their nanny (sorry, been there--done that!). That's me--friend to small children and animals everywhere. I hate the small talk that comes with parties like that. I'd rather hang out with the babies any day.

Hope y'all had a good weekend. And Chris, thanks for the nice words. Knowing that someone else is reading it makes me much more apt to post it. And I read yours before I post in mine, too. Which makes my Wednesdays and Thursdays sad!

And to all a good night...

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Grr...Arrgh..Again | Greetings and salutations from a disjointed mind >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona