Movie reviews and self love
2000-12-21 - 11:16:54

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I�m just so glad You�re okay. Enough said.

*****

We went to see a sneak preview of Cast Away last night. (I love Helen Hunt. I have a same-sex movie star crush on her.) It was an interesting movie. I�d say, though, that I liked it as a whole, even though I found it hard to watch in some places. I wonder what kind of person I�d be after that long on an island by myself. The plane crash scene was horrifying. I had to shut my eyes. I thought it would make me throw up.

I never saw The Perfect Storm, but reading the section in the book where Sebastian Junger (whom I don�t like, either as a writer or as a person, by the way) describes in detain what happens when a person drowns made me feel the same way. I don�t do well with water disaster scenes. I think it has a lot to do with my friend Greg�s death. I should know better by now than to subject myself to that kind of stuff.

I don�t have good disaster skills, I don�t think. In many ways, I am a strong person. But in the face of someone else�s disaster, I�m afraid I might crumble. This is why I work in the Radiology Administration section of the hospital. No trauma at my desk.

Not that there aren�t things I am good at. I know there are several. I can cook pretty well, and have a couple recipes that I excel at, which make my dinner guests feel special when I serve them. I�m a passably good actress, although my fear of auditions keeps me from indulging that particular habit. Of course, that�s made me discover that I�m a good stage manager. A good kitchen manager, too. In my next life, I�m going to cooking school. I�m a good kisser. I have a pretty good knack for picking out gifts that people like. I can remember the words to most of the songs I heard and the lines from the movies I saw in the 80�s, which makes me good to have on your team during trivia games. I�m a good daughter. I�m good with little kids. And every once in a while, I manage to write something that makes someone else actually feelwhat I mean, the greatest gift a writer can receive.

I just don�t do well with disaster.

*****

I�ve accomplished very little thus far today. This has really got to stop.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Fake nipples and other random thoughts | Thinking about Nana >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona