There's no place like home
2001-02-01 - 10:19:14

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Ah, it�s nice to be home again.

It�s even actually kind of nice to be back at my desk, despite the fact that there are six days� worth of problems in a pile on the corner. As much as I hate dealing with all of them, it�s nice to be the person who understands what�s going on.

I took yesterday as a personal day, as I just wasn�t feeling up to facing that pile yet. I was still way too tired. The Boyfriend brought me to his house on Tuesday night, and then I commuted in with him yesterday morning. He got off the T and went to work�I got off, switched trains and went home. Chris had also taken the day off, but was out running a million errands, so I had some alone time. I threw away two trash bags full of junk, washed four loads of laundry, planned a room rearranging (although I didn�t move any of the furniture yet). Chris came in around 12:30 and we went to Doyle�s for lunch, then he drove me down to my mom�s house so we could fill out a couple Longaberger orders we�d been avoiding for days.

When we got back to the apartment, we made plates of leftovers and sat on the couch to eat and watch Top Secret. No matter how lousy a mood I�m in, Val Kilmer can always cheer me up. I downed a glass of white wine, then crawled into bed to watch Jack & Jill, and fell asleep at about 10:05.

So good to sleep in my own bed again, with my own sheets and pillows, surrounded by my own stuff and the familiar noises of my own house. Even the stomping people upstairs on the second floor were somehow reassuring last night.

The Boyfriend told me the other day that he hates our not living in the same place. I understand that feeling. It will be nice, eventually, to have "home" be the place where his stuff is along side my stuff. I hate the thought of leaving the apartment, though.

I moved in there five and a half years ago. I�ve actually truly lived there for three and a half (the first two I used it as a storeroom, mostly, while I lived at the Artboy�s). And it�s not a perfect living space, and it�s not everything I�d want in a place that was truly mine, but it�s definitely home. I�m very comfortable there. It�s all very familiar. I don�t need lights or my glasses to get around it. I�ve got it decorated in a way that makes me happy. It�s got a cozy feeling.

Not that it truly matters right now, since the "Jennifer and the Boyfriend living in the same place" stage is still rather far away. I promised Nana that I wouldn�t move in with him before I married him (actually, that wasn�t a Boyfriend-specific promise�it was a general, "no, Nana, I won�t live in sin" promise), and I wouldn�t break that promise�not even for the luxury of waking up every day with the Boyfriend. So it really isn�t an issue, presently.

But I haven�t really thought about the prospect of moving before. And perhaps part of my hesitation right now is a desire for nothing else to change. The big things need to stay the same. At least for a little while.

Man, I�m rambling. I really could�ve used another day of sleep.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< The end of an era | More wine... >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona