Boston Winter Sucks
2001-02-06 - 09:49:28

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Chris and I were supposed to go grocery shopping last night. The food possibilities in our house are very limited right now.

Yesterday morning, I opened the freezer. I found a mostly-empty half gallon of Edy�s Vanilla, a half-full bag of Mama Rosies�s ravioli, a bag of frozen pearl onions, most of a box of phyllo dough, a loaf of cinnamon swirl bread and the ice trays.

Then I opened the fridge. I found condiments, a pint of heavy cream, some made-from-powder-mix iced tea, the Brita water filter, half a block of cheddar cheese and some baby carrots.

The pantry search yielded some pasta, a jar of pizza sauce, rice, chicken and stars soup, a can of Dinty Moore beef stew, some stale harvest chips, spices and baking needs.

It was really rather sad.

We sat down and made a list of all the things we needed to buy. Chris suggested the list should look like this:

-Toilet Paper
-Paper towels
-Food

I went for a more specific approach.

I called him before I left work to tell him I was on my way. Then I went outside into the nastiness that was yesterday afternoon�s commute in the city of Boston. Having forgotten both my umbrella and my hat, I was soaked by the time I reached my bus stop, two blocks from my building. I squeezed into the little T shelter and waited for the bus. And waited. And waited. After 20 minutes, one came, but it was so full, I didn�t even bother trying to push my way on. Five minutes later, another, just as full, drove by without even stopping.

Ten minutes after that, a third bus came. Miraculously, it was mostly empty, and I got a seat in the back. My head started to thaw, and consequently to drip. My glasses fogged. My nose ran. I cursed the public transportation system.

Six miles and one hour later, I finally stepped out the bus doors, directly into a 5-inch deep slush pile. Muttering obscenities to myself, I started on my three-block walk home. I crossed under the overpass just in time to be hit in the back of the head by a large chunk of frozen road crap, knocked down by a passing car. By the time I walked through my front door, my hair was frozen. My coat was soaked. My throat and ears were on fire. I was not a happy camper.

Needless to say, we did not go grocery shopping.

Instead, I used all 40 gallons of hot water in our tank in an attempt to improve my mental and physical state of being.

I�m still not sure it worked.

I�ll probably post more later, once I have a better grip on my day.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Whine, whimper, whimper whine | unmotivated >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona