More tea, madame?
2001-02-12 - 10:32:23

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

So I found another fun site. Odd Google is making me laugh. You should all help her out and send her your funny stuff.

It was a long and busy weekend, but a good one. Saturday, I got up and cleaned my house. No small feat, that. Mind you, it�s not that the apartment is huge. Not at all. It�s just rather dust-friendly. But my mom was coming in, which meant the dust had to go away. Since I rearranged my bedroom and went on my big trash-is-our-friend spree, my stuff has been nice and neat, but the rest of the place was crying for a good wipe down and vacuum up.

The dishes I left for Chris. He�s adopted them as his job. Which is really fine with me. Except that a) he doesn�t do anything but dishes, and b) he doesn�t necessarily do them that often. So when Mom arrived, the house was pretty shiny, except for the week�s worth of dirties on the counter. Whatever. I can�t do everything.

Mom came in because she, Erica, Erica�s mom Karla, Bonnie, Ian and I went to tea at the Ritz Saturday afternoon. What a cool experience. The room had a harpist in the corner, and lots of little tables set in front of big, comfy chairs. Mom and I actually sat on a little sofa. We all ordered Full Tea, which brought us the tea of our choice (mine was English Breakfast), a plate of tea sandwiches--cream cheese and cucumber, egg and chive, ham and asparagus and smoked salmon. I opted out of the salmon, instead eating two cream cheese and cucumber. Then our waiter brought us a tray of sweets with a currant scone, a slice of lemon poppyseed bread, a slice of apple cake, a small fruit tart in a shortbread crust and a chocolate-dipped strawberry. Each place was set with a small cup of devonshire cram and a personal jar of raspberry preserves. It was yummy. And I was full!

While we were eating, a group of kids came through the room carrying plates with pastry swans and chocolate strawberries. They walked quietly through and went into a private room in the back. We asked the waiter if they were at a birthday party. He explained that they were part of an overnight etiquette class. The kids come on Friday night, have dinner in the restaurant, stay in the hotel, have breakfast in the morning, then a class on proper behavior, then lunch and tea and go home.

I can think of a few grownups who would benefit from such a thing.

I had more to say, but it will have to wait. Right now, I�m having payroll issues.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< It's a cabinet in any language | My mother, the bank vault >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona