Secret Crush My Ass!
2001-02-15 - 13:29:22

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I didn�t go to the hospital last night. David convinced me not to. "Jennifer, I�ve been sitting here watching her sleep for two hours," he told me. I decided there wasn�t much point in both of us doing that, so I stayed home. I made cookies (tollhouse with walnuts), cleaned up the apartment, watched "Dawson�s Creek" and "Jack & Jill", chatted with Pussypants online for a while and went to bed. The Boyfriend called me twice from his desk to check on me and see if I�d heard any more mom news. He was trying to solve a big systems problem that had messed up his whole day, which was giving him a huge headache. He was also worried I�d be upset that we didn�t spend Valentine�s Day together. I really wasn�t. Truthfully, it was low on my list of priorities yesterday.

Instead, he�s made reservations somewhere for us for Friday night. He�s got some big night planned, but won�t let me in on any of the details except to say I have to get "a little dressed up," whatever that means. I have until tomorrow to figure it out.

Today, I went to check my Rocketmail inbox to see if anything was wasting away in there, waiting for me to read it. Not many people have the address. Actually, the only person who uses it on a regular basis is the Artboy.

I found a message from CrushLink.com waiting. "Someone has a secret crush on you!" it proclaimed. I followed the steps it gave me to figure out who it was.

It�s not as easy as they make it sound. First, you have to register with them. Then you have to enter the names and email addresses of anyone you think might have sent the email to you. If you enter the right person, apparently it triggers an email to both of you, saying "Congratulations! Your crush is mutual!" If you don�t, it sends a message to each person whose address you�ve entered, telling them someone has a secret crush on them.

I entered a couple logical names, avoiding the Artboy�s for the moment. Nothing. I asked it for clues. It told me the person who has a crush on me had a first name with four or less letters and a last name with six. Hmm�That fit the Artboy. Finally, I gave up and entered his name and email. It gave me a slightly different message, but didn�t confirm.

Fed up, I emailed him directly. "Hey, did this come from you? Not that I think you�re trying to tell me you have a crush on me, but if you received one and were trying to figure out who it was from and entered my name, it would generate this message. I only ask because your name fits the hints and you�re the only person who uses this email address on a regular basis."

He answered back. He had also received a "secret crush" email. When he got his hint, and the system told him his person�s first name had seven letters, he entered my name and address. After six years, he still can�t spell "Jennifer". How sad is that. Then he deleted me off his "crush list" so that the system would generate no further email. It was too late, apparently, to stop the initial one, though.

So�mystery solved. What a terrible system that thing is.

I have to say, though, that I�m relieved the Artboy didn�t send it meaning to send it. All I could think was, "Oh shit�how am I going to deal with that?!"

In other news, I want to send happy-good-for-you vibes to Pussypants, Argyle Socks and Garbanzo Bean. Hope you�re all doing okay.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Finally, the phone rings | Like an underripe tomato >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona