Busy, busy
2001-02-26 - 17:20:41

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Ah, yes, it�s the end of the day, and putting in this entry is my last official act before I shut my computer off and go home. But I�ve been busy, Diaryland. Part of my defragmentation this weekend involved focusing on the job, remember, and getting myself into a place where I do more than a couple days� worth of work in a week. So far, so good. I feel accomplished at the end of today. My desk isn�t a disaster area. No one is lurking in the shadows, waiting for something I�ve owed them for ages and haven�t done yet. It�s a nice feeling.

It�s only Monday, though. One productive day does not a new start make. I�ll check in on it on Thursday and see if I�ve managed to carry it through the rest of the week.

The Boyfriend called me from his mom�s house a little while ago. He took her to the hospital today to have a colonoscopy done. Apparently, her father died of colon cancer, so she�ll have to have this scope done periodically. Sounds like loads of fun. He�s such a good son, though�took the day off from work, got her to the hospital on time, didn�t balk, even when she told him the medications they give her could cause her to�uh�lose control of her bowels in the car on the way home. They didn�t, thankfully. He managed to get her home and into bed. He even made her lunch. "Nice" doesn�t begin to touch it.

The news this morning was full of accident stories from yesterday. I�m not surprised. Conditions in Boston were slippery. In Maine, we drove through a white out. I don�t think I mentioned yesterday that we it took us about six long, tense hours to get home. Joe is a very aggressive driver with a big-ass truck, and the fact that we couldn�t see any black on the highway surface didn�t stop him from driving 80 mph whenever traffic allowed. We saw way too many accidents on 95�people in the ditch between North and South, people in the trees off to the side, people crashed into each other. One accident involved three cars, all of which were still upside down when we drove past. I was so glad to see home, I can�t even describe it.

I came in this morning to find a message in my inbox from the Artboy. It was a generic, mailing-list message, containing info about the Gallery benefit show. The gallery he runs moved from one downtown building to another (it had no choice�the city tore down the old building to make room for some huge skyscraper development). The old building had been home to a big chunk of the Boston art and music scene over the years. Lots of people were sad to see it go.

The Artboy, along with several of the other old building residents, have put together a CD of bands and spoken word performers connected with the old building. All proceeds from selling it will go to benefit the new gallery. They�re planning a CD release party in April. The Artboy�s band will play. So will Count Zero, my friend Brendan�s band that I haven�t heard in ages and really, really love. Duncan will do some spoken word. I really want to go. Partly because I�d like to support the gallery, partly because I�d really like to see Brendan perform again, partly because there will be a lot of old friends there, friends I haven�t had the opportunity to see in ages. I want someone to give me permission, though, to tell me it�s okay for me to go.

How silly is that?

And with that, I�m off. Tonight, I�m going home to do laundry (doesn�t that sound exciting?) and clean my house a bit before an early bedtime. All that thinking I did this weekend made me tired!

Pleasant evening, D-land

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< The scan shows extreme fragmentation | Radiology, the Musical! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona