The scan shows extreme fragmentation
2001-02-25 - 22:05:05

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

We made it home from snowmobiling. A full on account of the weekend will have to wait until tomorrow, as I'm really too tired to go back through it in my head, but suffice it to say it was a good one. Saturday left me feeling calm and refreshed. It was a good, good decision.

I was trying to explain to Joe (the Boyfriend's friend and one of the other people snowmobiling) why I wanted Saturday to myself. Finally, I said, "You know when your computer is running too slowly, and you run a scan on it and discover that your hard drive is all fragmented, so you spend the hour it takes to defragment it? Well, that's kind of what I need to do with my brain." That made sense to him.

And what a perfect day it was. I got up early, took a long, hot shower (no bathtub, sadly), ate some cereal. I finished re-reading High Fidelity, one of my favorite books, and read through some of my meditation book. While practicing some of the easier exercises in it, I started to feel sleepy and relaxed (I still need to work on my focus!), so I took a nap for about two hours. When I got up, I made some lunch (melted mozzarella cheese on slices of fresh Italian bread, a red delicious apple, popcorn with lots of salt and butter), then wrote some letters. I wrote one to the Boyfriend, telling him how happy I was to be there with him (the snowmobile trip has been an issue every year since I met him--the first year, I cancelled going at the last minute because of the Artboy. Last year he went pointedly without me and it cause a Big Talk about the state of our relationship), and how lucky I feel that things have worked out as they have. I wrote one to the Artboy, which I'll probably never send, telling him how nice it is to not feel attached to him, and that I hope he doesn't screw things up with the NGF. I wrote one to my mom, telling her she shouldn't worry so much about me and that I think she's done an amazing job being both my mother and my friend. I wrote one to my grandmother to tell her all the things I wanted to share with her before she died but didn't get the chance to say.

I probably won't mail any of them, but writing them was really for me, anyway.

Then I started dinner, and none too soon, because by then, it was 4:00 and the snowmobile crew showed up on site earlier than expected. Never have I cooked for an easier crowd. I could've put baked Doc Martin on the table, and they would have eaten it happily. I didn't, though. I made good food (I had to eat, too!), and they were appreciative.

I was glad to see them when they got back, but could have used another hour or two, I think. Oh well--next year, I guess!

Now I'm off to bed--more tomorrow.

Hope your weekend was good, Diaryland!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Griffin and Sabine postcards | Busy, busy >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona