Gallery openings and house hunting
2001-03-26 - 12:19 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Have you ever noticed that the worst drivers on the road are the ones with the �God is my copilot� bumper stickers? What�does that mean they don�t have to worry about the rules of the road? I don�t get it.

I love coming in to work the day after I get my hair cut. People are so funny. Whether they like it or not, they all need to comment on it, so they search for something to say. This morning, one of our managers told me I looked �just like a little kid!� I�m not sure that was exactly the look I was going for, Connie, but thanks anyway.

I�m going to get my friend Mark to take a picture of me with his digital camera. If I like it, I�ll post it so y�all can search for something nice to say about my haircut, too.

Not only did I get my hair cut Saturday, but I got my teeth cleaned and bought a new pair of jeans and two sweaters, too. It was a banner day in Jennifer�s personal spring cleaning. In a burst of positive self-image, I actually bought girl�s pants this time, too, instead of the baggy boy�s jeans I�ve been wearing for the past several years. Of course, in my own defense, since I stopped buying women�s jeans, the clothing companies started making some that I can put on and feel comfortable in without having the waistband rest right under my breasts.

I�m glad Kyle has gone home. Again, let me say that he�s basically okay, in small doses, under the right circumstances, but his being here certainly complicated the weekend, which had enough issues in it already without his help.

As I said the other night, we did go to the opening. The Boyfriend, Kyle, Chris and I took the T over together at about 7:30. It started at 6. Chris was uncomfortable about being late. He doesn�t understand�at 6:00, the only people there, I�m sure, were the gallery �staff.� We came in as the crowd was beginning to grow. The first face I recognized was Mike�s. He was easily my favorite person in the Artboy�s old house, and I�ve missed him horribly in the past year and a half or so. He�s also the source of my second tattoo (the one that turned me into Jenistar in the first place), and I need him to touch it up in a couple places, so seeing him was important. Next, I literally stumbled into the Artboy. He was genuinely pleased to see us there. Made the big introduction. They were both pleasant and congenial. He offered us drinks and then disappeared into the crowd.

Upstairs on the floor with all the art, I spied Brendan (former owner of the Supermetro), who yelled when he saw me. �Jen! Ohmigod! What a cool surprise!� He took us on a mini-tour of the public space in the gallery (the studio spaces were all closed off for the night, understandably). I�m amazed at how great it looks. They put an enormous amount of work into creating something functional and really good-looking, and it�s paid off. I�m impressed. The Artboy has grown up.

And...I got to point out Jamie-the-Take-Your-Pants-Off-Man to the Boyfriend. Apparently, he's still friends with one of the other gallery residents. The Boyfriend wanted to go over and say, "JTTYPOM, I've heard so much about you!" I didn't think that was such a good idea.

It was odd, being in the middle of a gallery opening with the Boyfriend by my side. My brain was in overload mode. Part of me was still sad, looking at the Artboy in the midst of this huge accomplishment. Or maybe sad isn�t quite the right word. I�m not sure I even understand what I was feeling, which makes it hard to articulate. I do know, however, that when we left at 10:00, I was glad to be going home. I�d had enough of the small talk art crowd. I didn�t miss the 4 a.m. cleanup. Not at all.

Leaving, I told the Artboy that we were definitely coming to the CD release on April 26. I told him I really wanted to see Brendan�s band play. He got this pouty look on his face and said, �You know who else is playing that night, don�t you? You�re going to come watch me play, too, aren�t you?� I laughed and said yes, I�d be there. We hugged. He and the Boyfriend shook hands. The Artboy invited him to all future gallery events. It was all good.

When we were in high school, my friends and I all dated each other. Scott the HSBF also dated at least three of my close friends (three that I can remember offhand, anyway�Scott, were there more?!). Before he and I got together, his best friend and I were a couple. I realized one benefit of that square dance approach to dating. When couples broke up, their social circles didn�t. You still had to get up and go to school, and when you got there, you came face-to-face with your ex, who was now probably dating your friend. And you learned to deal with it. And you found a way to get past it. And there was none of this �I�m so glad to see you�I didn�t think we�d ever hang out again.�

I was really glad to be able to share Saturday night with the Artboy. I got a chance to talk to NGF again, and still really like her. And by the time I woke up on Sunday, I�d been able to file a little more of the Artboy into an appropriate spot in my heart.

The social square dance has its merit. I�m certain of it.

Sunday, I went house hunting with the Boyfriend and the Woman with the Highest Voice in the World, AKA Betsy, the Boyfriend�s mom (which started more than a few tongues wagging, believe me). She showed him (us) six houses. One we both really liked, but the bedroom was teensy. One he liked a lot, and I liked some, but it was in a not-so-great area. One he hated and I was completely charmed by. It�s a converted cottage on a little lake. The outside was white with trim the color of mint chocolate chip ice cream. Nothing inside was less than 30 years old, from the pink frilly curtains in the Barbie Dreamhouse bathroom to the orange shag carpet in the huge living room to the blue and green love beads hanging in the doorway to the breakfast nook.

If we�d been house hunting for me, I�d have made an offer on the spot.

Again, let me say that the Boyfriend hated it.

After we were finished with the last house, Betsy took us back to her office and drew up the paperwork to put the Boyfriend�s condo on the market. First open house is Sunday. It�s listed at 123.5. This is all suddenly very real.

Betsy reminded us both as he was signing the agreement to sell that I�d promised Nana we wouldn�t live together before we got married. Like I was going to go home and start packing! I HAVE A LEASE, BETSY! On top of which, I�ve told him several times that I wouldn�t move in with him. As I think I�ve mentioned in here before, I feel like we should save something. But it was funny to watch her bring it up.

Woo! One of my coworkers just told me I had �sexy hair�. Much better than the whole little girl thing.

Off to get some lunch.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< survived, I did | It's a cruel, crazy beautiful world >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona