Housewife grant and insane living conditions
2001-03-29 - 3:07 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Bah! I would like to run away!

Yesterday, Carla and I were talking. I mentioned that I thought it was too bad we don�t get �I just don�t feel like going to work� days, along with vacation time, sick time and holidays. Sometimes, I need one of those. Tuesday night, I was looking around my apartment. I had about seven loads of laundry to do, floors to sweep and vacuum, a bathroom to scrub down, a bed to make, various and sundry items to put back in their homes. Our pantry and refrigerator have once again become barren food wastelands. My plants are droopy from lack of companionship. My life is too busy for me to take care of my house.

Carla said it was too bad I couldn�t choose �50�s housewife� as a career, even without the husband and the kids. It should somehow be a viable lifestyle choice. Besides, then we could play at the park.

I started joking about it, but I haven�t been able to get it out of my head since then.

If I ever have zillions of dollars, I�m going to start a foundation. The foundation will give grants to women (and men, I suppose) who want to nurture their domestic sides, but who are not in a financial situation to do so. A 50�s housewife grant. People would have to go through an application process, and would have to meet certain criteria during the time they were supported by the grant�they couldn�t just sit at home in their jammies and watch Oprah all day, or they would lose their grant support. They would have to truly want to make being at home their jobs.

Carla and my mom and I would choose the people who would receive the grants. Our company logo would probably look something like Kathy�s site, all retro and Donna Reed-y.

I can�t help but think that if I had the opportunity to do something like this now, I�d have an easier time adjusting once I was doing it not for one person, but for two (or three or four). Certainly, I don�t think I�d find myself standing in my living room on a Tuesday night, looking around and shaking my head at the disgrace my house had become.

I�m going to have to work toward this.

~~~

In other news, I think my roommate is going completely over the edge.

He sent an email out to eight of us this morning that said, �Does anyone know of a job that�s available?�

I answered him and said that was a pretty open-ended question, could he be more specific? I also said, �tough morning?�

This is what I got back:

�I'm not really joking. I'm not the type of person who muses that aloud to this many people without being serious. I've spent the last few hours convincing myself not to leave today, right this very minute if not sooner. I know that I joke around a lot, and that sometimes people can't tell when I'm serious. That's my fault and I'm sorry, but I need to be able to pay rent, etc, because now it's not just me affected by my quitting, it's you, too, because I have a strong obligation not to put you in a bad situation. If it were just me, I'd be home right now. So in a way, my job should thank you. I need a job that will pay me about what I make now. It's not a tough morning, Jen. Just a depressing one.�

I didn�t have a chance to answer him right away, as I was doing some actual work. About half an hour later, I got this:

Usually when I talk to you via e-mail, we send back and forth until some sort of end is reached. We haven't this time, so I imagine that somehow I've said something that wasn't kind to you. I didn't mean to do that at all. I only wanted to let you know that I wasn't someone who would spring "I quit my job today" on you. I'm sorry if I said something wrong, Jen. I hope you accept my apology. I'm confused about a lot of things, but I do know that I don't want to lose any friends just because I feel that I have to leave my job. I'm not trying to take anything out on anyone; I hope you understand that I just went about saying things to you in the wrong way. I'm sorry.�

What the FUCK? I�m not even sure what all that means!

Erica, our other friend Heather and I are starting to plan a serious intervention. He�s just getting worse and worse, and it�s making my life difficult and uncomfortable.

He�s essentially got two choices: He can get some help, or he can find a new place to live when our lease is up August 1. I will not let him make my house an unhappy place for me to be.

That�s the roommate side of me talking. The friend side says yeah, but on top of that, it kills me to see him like this.

The three of us are going to get together on Sunday night to figure out our plan of approach (I hate to say �attack�, because that�s not what it is.).

Until then, I just hope he doesn�t drive me completely insane.

~~~

Four hours until I meet Carla to shop for scrapbook supplies and eat ice cream! Yahoo!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Nothing ever goes as planned | updated archives and another shameless plea >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona