Housewife applications, haiku and my big mouth
2001-03-30 - 11:44 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

My friend Mark and I have been writing haiku email to each other for the past two days. I sent him one yesterday asking if he�d come take my picture with his digital camera. We agreed to do it today.

This morning, I sent him:

I am here today

Out of my meeting at 3

Hope to see you then

He answered back:

Pretty long meeting

What can you be discussing?

Maybe mideast peace?

3 or 4 is fine

Rain continues to come down

My trousers are soaked

I think I�m going to start sending all my emails like that from now on. For one thing, it makes you choose your words very carefully!

So�if I do hook up with him this afternoon, and he manages to take a halfway decent photo, I might just post it up here. Maybe.

~~~

Pussypants put in my first official grant application yesterday. Thank you, PP! As soon as I find the funding, your grant is on its way!

It�s funny. I know we were only joking when we had the conversation the other day, but I�ve continued to think about it since then. The scary part is that I think if I took the time and actually wrote up the grant proposal correctly, I could probably get funded to study the whole 50�s housewife thing, the effect that having a stay-at-home member of the household has on said household. I�m really starting to consider this seriously. Does that sound crazy?

I think perhaps I�m just tired of being at my desk.

~~~

I spent 60 dollars at the scrapbook store last night. Yep, that was sixty. Six-oh. On paper and stickers and two punches (one that makes hearts and one that makes a bell). Now I have all the stuff I need to make Diana�s bridal tea invitations. Except, of course, a date for the tea. That might be kind of important, don�t�cha think?

We didn�t leave the store until after 9:00. Then we went to Friendly�s and ate ice cream and talked until almost 11. The time went by way too fast. It always does when we�re together.

Everyone should have a friend like that.

I had a close-call moment while we were in the store. I was telling Carla about the Boyfriend�s and my conversation the other day about his mom. I may have crossed the line and opened the floodgates with him�I made a comment about her always wanting to be in control and be the decision maker, to the exclusion of those around her. He didn�t follow (It�s amazing to me that he can�t see it, but�). I extricated myself out of it before the conversation got heated or too uncomfortable, but I know it�s going to come up again.

So last night, I�m telling Carla about this whole scene while we�re shopping through the store, when the owner and her husband came through the room. She knows Betsy. Betsy is her real estate agent and friend. The last time I was in there, I introduced myself as Betsy�s son�s girlfriend.

Oops.

It was busy and crowded in the store, though. I don�t think she recognized me.

Sometimes, Jennifer, you just need to keep your mouth shut!

~~~

I�m having lunch with Erica tomorrow to discuss our Chris plan. I decided last night that I feel completely justified in giving him an ultimatum�get some help or find a new place to live. I do not want to sign another lease with him if it�s going to be like this. I just can�t.

That gives him four months to do something. Unquestionably enough time.

I considered that my ultimatum may end our friendship as well as our living situation. I�m okay with that possibility.

Man, I am not looking forward to this�

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< updated archives and another shameless plea | so here goes! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona