In your Easter Bonnet, with all the frills upon it...
2001-04-16 - 12:59 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Send Jon a hug today. He sounds like he needs one.

*****

I�m feeling physically rather blah today. Too much Easter, not enough sleep.

It was a really good weekend, though. I packed up and headed to my mom�s on Friday. She, David and I sat on the couch, ate Chinese food and chatted for a while. She kept trying to send me to bed, but we�d start talking again, until it was almost Midnight, and she ordered me to my room!

Saturday morning, I was up at 4:45. I hate being up that early. It just feels wrong. But Carla was on the back porch at 5:45, so it had to happen. I actually had set my alarm for 5:15, but woke up and didn�t dare go back to sleep again. I didn�t want her to show up and find all the lights in the house out, with me still curled up under my covers. Would�ve been easy, though.

We headed out the door and into Haymarket to get Easter fruit. I bought a cantaloupe, a honeydew melon, a pint of raspberries, half a pint each of blackberries and blueberries, a pineapple, one pound each of red and green grapes and two bunches of asparagus, all for $13.50. Haymarket is good.

The rest of Saturday mostly involved cooking, cleaning and standing in grocery store lines. We went into three of them, three separate times, for different sets of things. My mom couldn�t seem to make herself a list, so we just kept going back. That part wasn�t fun. People in the grocery store right before a holiday are generally not very nice.

We took a break, though, and went to have pedicures in the late afternoon. :)

If you�ve never had a pedicure, you should stop reading right now and go make an appointment somewhere. I hate my feet�hate them! Hate feet in general, actually. But the warm whirlpool soak, the massage, the bright-colored toenails�it�s all worth it. Absolute heaven! (Men, too�just skip the polish part! Or don�t skip it�whatever makes you happy!)

After I was done, and I was hanging out and waiting for my mom, I read all the information about paraffin treatments. Fascinated, I asked Julie (the manicurist) about the process. She smiled. �Do you want to try it?�

I did, yes, but I hadn�t budgeted for paraffin treatments that day, and told her so. �Oh, I won�t charge you for it�just come here!�

She had me take my rings off and dip each well-lotioned hand three times into the well of melted wax. My hands looked fake. She then immediately wrapped each hand in a plastic bag and put little mittens over the bags, and told me to relax for 20 minutes.

Oh. My. God.

I want to dip my entire self in that wax.

So anyway, now my toes are a lovely peachy-pink shade. OPI calls this color �Your Villa or Mine�. I�m not sure what exactly that means, but the color is pretty.

*****

WFNX is playing a big block of the Ramones right now. RIP, Joey.

*****

So�Easter. I got up early and cut up the fruit, vacuumed, cleaned up my bedroom. Went to church by myself, but sat with Carla and her in-laws (hope you made it through your weekend okay, Carla�I�m here if you want to reach me!).

It�s weird, being in the church. Some day, maybe I�ll write an entry about what made my family stop going to church. It�s really different from what made me stop going to church�I stopped going because I moved into the city, and commuting back on Sunday mornings just stopped happening after a while. Now I�ve become one of those twice-a-year churchgoers. Christmas and Easter. That�s it. But regardless, it was a nice service, and I�m glad I went.

Not long after I got home, the family onslaught began. We had 28 for dinner yesterday, a low year for us, actually. The Boyfriend was there, along with his mom, dad and sister. They�re a package deal�you want one, you get them all. I guess that�s true with my family, too. We�re just usually the ones that stay put. His family had to come to us. Good, then, that there are only four of them!

I was sitting on the back stairs with the Boyfriend, watching all the kids play in the yard, when Kenny (my cousin�s six-year-old son) came over and looked quizzically at the Boyfriend. He finally looked at me and asked, �J.J., is that your husband?�

I laughed. �No, Kenny, he�s not.�

My cousin Gina chimed in from the porch, �Almost, though!�

My family is shameless. I told the Boyfriend that they feel the need to mention it to me like it�s something I�ve never thought about. �Jennifer might never think of marrying him�perhaps I�d better bring it up!�

He said, �Well, have you? Maybe I should thank them for putting the idea in your head.�

So we�re back to this, are we? So it goes.

I went home with him last night, after all the Easter festivities were over. Neither of us was ready for the weekend to be over yet. I�d seen so little of him, and had to share that time with 26 other people.

Funny how much can change in a year. Last Easter, I was driving home alone when the Artboy pulled up next to me. He followed me home and came inside for the first time in six months. Shortly thereafter, the phone calls and emails started, teary heartfelt pleas to go with him to couples� counseling, to pledge myself to working out our relationship. The �but we�re soulmates� kick. The �I love you, now and always, and someday you will love me the same way and there will be no more barriers� era. The night I finally agreed to see him, and ended up throwing up out the door of his truck onto the road shoulder because I got so tense I made myself sick. The hours I spent after that considering what was most important to me, questioning whether I could picture a true life with no Artboy, ever again.

Yep, things change a lot over a year.

I could no more leave the Boyfriend now than I could cut off my arm. I�d be equally as lost in either case.

My stepsister and her husband bought a house. Mom stopped in to see it on Saturday while we were out on our errands. They�re so excited, planning this next part of their life.

Part of it made me a little jealous. No, not jealous exactly. Perhaps impatient is the right word. Perhaps I�m feeling more ready for this than I realized.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Life is good | 'Cause I'm the Taxman, yeah, I'm the Taxman. And you're working for no one but me. >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona