No music for me!
2001-04-26 - 3:30 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Ah, Thursday afternoon. Some weeks, it seems so hard to get here.

Some of my coworkers are going to see �Sing Along Sound of Music� tonight on my recommendation. I hope they let themselves enjoy it!

Damon and I went to see Memento last night. Great movie. Although, I�m still not certain I understand exactly what happened in it! I don�t want to say too much about it, because it�s one of those movies that I think is more enjoyable to watch when you don�t know what�s going to happen in it, but I do want to say that it�s definitely worth going to see.

While I was at the movies, the Boyfriend was taking his first pottery class. As I�ve mentioned in here before, he had a fine arts/pottery minor in college, but hasn�t done anything with it since he graduated, although he�s talked a lot about it since we met. He�d like someday to open a shop himself, sell his stuff, but it was all talk. Last April, I gave him the class as a birthday gift, hoping it would encourage him to start doing again something he really appeared to love.

I was asleep by the time he got home, but he left a message on my voicemail when he came in, all giddy-happy and excited. He made two bowls and a vase his first night, and remembered everything he learned at school much faster than he�d expected to. I�m so glad he enjoyed it. I was worried that he�d agreed to go just to humor me. This is apparently far from the case.

It�s good to see him so excited. Good that I made that happen.

So tonight is the big CD release show/gallery benefit hosted by the Artboy. Both the Artboy�s band and my friend Brendan�s band were on the bill for tonight. I love Brendan�s band. I was excited to see them. At the opening, when I told the Artboy we�d be there (the Boyfriend and I), he said, �you know I�m playing that night, don�t you? You�ll come see me, too, won�t you?� I said yes, and he smiled. He told me that he really wanted me to hear them play.

Fast forward to yesterday. I was meeting Damon in Cambridge for dinner before the movie, so I went over to the Middle East to get tickets for tonight�s show (I was afraid it would sell out�they�ve gotten a huge amount of press). The girl in the box office, just before she took my money, told me that the lineup had changed, and Brendan�s band wasn�t playing. Apparently, there was a death in the lead singer�s family.

I didn�t buy the tickets.

Part of me feels badly about bailing on the show tonight. I told the Artboy I�d be there, and I�ve never not done something I told him I�d do. But his band alone isn�t necessarily a big enough draw to bring me to the show tonight. I was truly going to see Brendan. And I�m not sure I need another late night this week, with the memory of my Tuesday migraine still lurking in my mind. Not enough of me feels bad about it to go just to make the Artboy happy. I�m done traveling down that road.

So we aren�t going.

Oh well.

One of my favorite diarists passworded her diary recently. She then entrusted the password to a select few people. I was lucky enough to be one of them. Today, I read her most recent entries, and discovered why she passworded her diary, and why she hasn�t written much lately. It would betray her confidence to say too much here, but if she�s reading this, know that I�m thinking about and praying for you.

I am so lucky to be surrounded by the people I have in my life. I hope I never take that for granted.

Good day, all.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Refer to the Card | Dick Maneuver >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona