Grocery store playland
2001-05-18 - 2:09 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Jenistar�s good news of the day:

I get to meet Genghis Jon on June 7. He�s playing near my house. Giddyup!

I�ll be excited even if he doesn�t play a Motley Crue song for me!

The Boyfriend and I dropped the Jeep off at the dealership last night and then headed to Mario�s, a neighborhood Italian place in Hyde Park, for dinner.

I�ve only eaten at Mario�s once before, with my friend Bartlett several years ago. The Artboy and I tried on six different occasions to have dinner there. It was closed every time we went. We�d joke about it. �Hey, you want to go to Mario�s?� �Sure. Then where do you want to eat?�

I�ve pointed it out to the Boyfriend a couple times, since it�s right near the Star Market I shop at. Yesterday, he asked me if I wanted to try eating there. I agreed, never thinking it would actually happen.

We parked and crossed the street. The door opened. There was a hostess inside. Other patrons, wait staff, busboys. The curse of Mario�s extended only to the Artboy, apparently. Odd.

After we ate, we stopped at the grocery store to buy juice, milk, cereal and supplies to make pepperoni cheese bread (something I�ve been craving for days). Once in the store, I decided I also needed ice cream, which, of course, necessitated a trip back to the absolute other end from the aisle we were in.

I took a big push start, stood on the back of the cart and sailed maybe 20 feet across the floor. We chose a good cart. The Boyfriend caught up and started pushing me, faster and faster, down to the frozen food section. We weren�t steering well. Laughing, I tried to lean my body weight in the right direction to avoid the stacked display of sale tuna. He pulled back just in time. We were in hysterics. Other shoppers gave us dirty looks across their carts of paper towels and diet soda.

We ended up with two half-gallons of Edy�s (it was a two-for-one sale), vanilla with a fudge swirl and mini peanut butter cups for me, chocolate chip for him.

Chris was behind closed doors when we got home. I was feeling far too silly to be quiet. He didn�t come out of his room, though. I would have shared my Edy�s with him.

We filled bowls with ice cream and snuggled down under my blankets to watch the season finale of ER. He made me laugh while I was swallowing, sending a piece of fudge up my nose, which only made me laugh harder.

After the show ended (and I can�t believe Mark stood and watched that guy die!), I went and washed my face and brushed my teeth. When I came back to bed, he smiled at me. �I thought you�d never come back!�

�I was gone for five minutes.�

�That was far too long.�

If I were someone else, watching us, I�d make retching noises at us half the time.

This morning, he tried to convince me I could afford another sick day. I passed up the opportunity to spend my whole day in bed to come print out minutes for an administrative meeting. That doesn�t seem fair.

Today, I am full of good things.

I made tentative plans to go out with my friend Jim tonight. I haven�t yet returned his call.

I�m feeling selfish right now, carefully guarding my time. I told my mom I didn�t want to make plans with anyone but my family, the Boyfriend and four other people any more on any kind of a regular basis.

There are people in my life I am not a very good friend to.

(That�s a really terrible sentence. The uptight anal grammar police would have my head.)

Regardless, I find it increasingly difficult to make time for them. I�m not sure yet exactly what this means.

Too much to figure out today. I think I�ll go get a cookie instead. Sounds like a much better idea.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Timing is everything | Sugarcube, Baby! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona