100 Things about Me
January 24, 2005 - 2:32 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Inspired by a friend, I present to you... (drumroll, please...)

100 things about Jennifer!

1. People tend to guess I�m younger than I am when they first meet me.
2. My favorite job ever was working as an usher at Great Woods. When I first started there, I got paid $3.90 an hour.
3. I have never been a person who aspired toward a career. Jobs are just a way to pay your bills and pass the time. My ambitions lie elsewhere.
4. I am now 86% stay-at-home mom, and it�s a job I feel very passionately about. I would remain a stay-at-home mom forever if I could figure out how, short of having a dozen kids.
5. I have been proposed to by five different men. I only said yes to one of them.
6. Saying the last no broke my heart in a way that will probably never entirely mend.
7. As of January, 2005, my husband and I have been married for two and a half years. It�s the hardest thing I�ve ever done, but it�s entirely worth it.
8. I broke up with my husband on Halloween 1998, six months after we started dating, to settle some matters of the heart involving the man who received that last �no� . He was wearing his Halloween costume, a moose hat, complete with antlers, and red long underwear with a trap in the back, when I did it.
9. We were apart for a year, the last half of which I spent trying to get him to talk to me. Some might call what I did �stalking.� I disagree. The following November 1, we went out to dinner. We�ve been together ever since.
10. I have been outside this country to Spain, Canada, and Bermuda (twice, both times on a Norwegian cruise). I would go back to any of the places I�ve been in a heartbeat.
11. I traveled cross-country with my church youth group when I was in high school. We went as far west as South Dakota. It was an incredible trip.
12. I�ve also been to Southern California. I hated it.
13. I have no desire to live anywhere but the Boston area.
14. My father died on August 15, 1992. He had a heart attack, his second. He was 49. I was 21. We were not on very good terms when it happened. It took me many years to come to terms with that.
15. My stepfather died on January 14, 2001. He had arrhythmia. Had he not died, he would have soon become my father legally.
16. My mom and I are very close. Some people feel we�re too close. I disagree.
17. Right now, she lives with us. Once her house is complete, she�ll live next door. This arrangement is fine with me.
18. My family is very important to me. So are family traditions. I do my best to preserve them.
19. I was very close with my maternal grandparents. I still have conversations, albeit one-sided, with my grandmother, who has been dead for almost four years.
20. I have an older half-brother on my father�s side. He and I didn�t meet until I was 22 and he was 26. I didn�t know he existed until I was 21.
21. I also have two older half-sisters on my father�s side. I�ve never met them and probably never will. I am okay with that.
22. Outside of my brother, I�ve never met any members of my father�s family.
23. I like to host parties.
24. There are three parties I will try to have each year: the August Birthday Party, Friend Thanksgiving, and some kind of January gathering.
25. Only one of those three things happened this year, and I am very, very sad about it.
26. I do not generally like to go to parties. I�m not very good at small talk.
27. I really like to cook. As a result, I�m pretty good at it.
28. I have a terrible sweet tooth.
29. My favorite indulgence of that sweet tooth is cookies. Lots and lots of cookies.
30. Peanut butter cookies and chewy chocolate chip with nuts are my favorites.
31. I subscribe to four magazines: Real Simple, Martha Stewart Living, Everyday Food, and Cooking Light.
32. I was a journalism major during my longest stint in college.
33. I have been a matriculating student at two schools: Gordon College and Northeastern University.
34. I have taken additional classes at Emerson College and University of Massachusetts, Boston.
35. I also took an improvisation class at MassArt, but it was just for fun.
36. I am still, even if all my previous credits counted, about two full years of classes away from a bachelor�s degree at any school.
37. I still remember the comments my English teacher wrote on my research paper at the end of my senior year of high school: ��That being said, let me add that it was a pleasure to have you in my class this year, however frustrating it may have been. Frustrating because I watched perhaps the best English student in the whole senior class fritter away her talent. Talent, without discipline or diligence, goes a very short way. Remember that as you go on to college and beyond. What kept me from killing you? The fact that you are a classy young lady who will go far in life, maybe as a writer. I wouldn�t want to deprive the world of the Jennifer W. experience. Good luck, and keep in touch.�
38. I didn�t keep in touch. I regret that.
39. I think my eyes are my best feature. They�re a very true shade of blue.
40. I was tremendously towheaded as a child. I still think I�m a blonde, but my hair leans more toward brown in its adult state.
41. I�m a registered Democrat.
42. I�m a trained rape crisis consultant, certified by the state of Massachusetts.
43. I�m a lightweight when it comes to alcohol. I generally throw up after three drinks.
44. I secretly wish I knew how to play the drums and the trombone.
45. I love trampolines.
46. I have a weakness for cheesy television shows.
47. I have been watching Days of Our Lives since I was little. I watched Another World and Santa Barbara until they went off the air, and have been watching Passions since it started.
48. I frequently talk about the people on TV shows that I like as if I know them.
49. In the fifth grade, I played the goose in a production of Charlotte�s Web. �Sorry, sorry, sorry, I�m sitting on my eggs. Eight of them, you know. Got to keep them toasty-oasty-oasty-oasty-oasty warm.�
50. In the sixth grade, I played Marc Antony in a production of Julius Caesar. �Friends, Romans, Countrymen�lend me you ears. I come to bury Caesar, not to praise him. The evil that men do lives after them. The good is oft interred with their bones. So let it be with Caesar. The noble Brutus hath said that Caesar was ambitious. If it were so, it was a grievous fault, and grievously hath Caesar paid for it.�
51. I have a tremendous capacity for remembering seemingly useless information (like my lines from plays done in 1980 and 1981, respectively).
52. I have no capacity for history or geography.
53. I was president of my sixth grade class during both the first and last quarters of the school year.
54. I went to camp for gifted and talented kids. Through the program, I took classes in Spanish, acting, debating, calligraphy, magic, advertising, and more.
55. I am a very good public speaker.
56. I am afraid of being alone in the dark for too long.
57. I didn�t get my driver�s license until just before I turned 21.
58. Even now, I only drive when I have no other choice.
59. The part of driving I like best involves singing along with the top-volume radio.
60. I have a weakness for 80�s alternative music.
61. I drink several cups of decaffeinated black tea each day.
62. Since the beginning of the year, I have sweetened my tea with Splenda, but I really prefer sugar. I also add milk, generally skim.
63. I don�t like beer. At all.
64. I do, however, really enjoy lambic, although most people don�t know what that is.
65. My favorite drinks have rum and frozen fruit and are made in a blender. Pretty much anything that fits those categories will do it for me.
66. I also love bread and cheese and pears. That could be a whole meal, and I would be happy.
67. I graduated from high school in 1988, at the exact middle rank in my high school class.
68. I lived at home until four months before my 25th birthday.
69. I moved from home to an apartment in Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, where I lived for the next seven years. I love J.P. and would move back there in a heartbeat if I could bring our house.
70. I have a son. He�s presently 14 months old.
71. I always thought I would have at least two children. Now that I have one, I am reluctant to talk about having a second.
72. I collect Longaberger baskets (which my mom and I also sell), cookbooks, teapots, and things with stars on them.
73. I have hundreds of dollars worth of rubber stamps and other card-making supplies.
74. If I make a card for you, I have deemed you �card-worthy.� Not everyone is card-worthy.
75. I hate being late, but generally walk through the door about 15 minutes after I�m expected.
76. I wear a size 9 shoe. Thankfully, my feet didn�t get bigger after I got pregnant.
77. I frequently play a game with myself called �worst possible scenario,� in which I imagine the worst thing that could happen in any given situation. Not that I expect it to happen, but I identify what I think it is.
78. I think my feet are really unattractive. Actually, I think that about feet in general.
79. I love to get mail.
80. I am really good at writing letters, but not so good at mailing them.
81. I don�t like coconut, onions, curry, honey, or baked goods made with vegetables.
82. I have two tattoos: a very small black daisy on my hipbone, and three stars in a pyramid shape, red, yellow, and blue, on the small of my back.
83. I used to have a navel ring, but it wouldn�t heal correctly so I took it out. I got tired of balancing shot glasses full of non-iodized sea salt and warm water against my belly to try and combat the infection.
84. I have eight first cousins. Five of them are married. Between them, they have nine kids (so far). Our family gatherings are quite large.
85. I work at a dermatology office every Tuesday, writing policy and scheduling appointments. In addition, I type dictated letters for the doctors in the practice and file in another office when I have the opportunity. I feel very busy.
86. I insisted on keeping the clawfoot tub in our bathroom when we redid it. I love taking baths in it, though I don�t do it nearly as often as I�d like.
87. My most embarrassing moment in life involved the town library, a school project, Kenny Levine (who I had a horribly painful sixth-grade crush on), and my mother in a Papa Smurf suit. I will probably never get over it. My mom hates it when I tell the story.
88. I hate playing team sports. I am not competitive at all.
89. I ran cross-country my freshman year of high school. It was my one attempt at organized sports. I hated it.
90. Sophomore year, I returned to the newspaper and the drama club, where I belonged.
91. My favorite numbers are 8, 18, and 517. I can�t explain why.
92. My favorite color is red, though I buy clothes mostly in the blue family because of my eyes.
93. My computer is an iMac. I just prefer Apples, to oranges AND to PC�s.
94. I really, really, really want and iPod, though I don�t have a whole lot of opportunity to use one. I don�t think that should be a deciding factor.
95. I�ve had 22 notable jobs since high school. I was a dental assistant, a baby-sitter, a line server and snack shop attendant in the college food service system, a data entry clerk, a yogurt server at a TCBY, an usher and a security guard for music venues, counter help in a dry cleaner�s, an ice cream scooper, a paralegal assistant in one law firm and a junior paralegal in another, a pharmacy tech, a full-time live-in nanny, a member of the front desk staff in an outpatient Radiology clinic, an administrative assistant, a data manager for cancer clinical trials, an administrative coordinator, a �gal Friday� in a dermatology office, a transcriptionist, a file clerk, and a Mommy. Those of you who don�t count the last one as a job have never had to be one.
96. The longest I stayed at any of those jobs was four years (administrative coordinator). The shortest was two weeks (pharmacy tech).
97. I am, at this point, still nursing my son, but only at night right before he goes to bed. 98. I love to nap, though I don�t do it as often as I�d like. 99. In the eighth grade, I was the champion of my junior high spelling bee. I got to go to the state finals. My eliminating word was �quizzically,� which I spelled wrong when I got nervous and left out one of the end L�s. 100. It�s taken me almost a week to come up with 100 things to put on this list.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Peanut Butter Crisscrosses | blah blah blah blah blah >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona