Immunity Challenge #2
2002-03-20 - 5:17 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Immunity Challenge #2: Since this is the big Academy Award push, write an acceptance speech for winning an Oscar. You can come up with all the details (such as what category you won it in, what the name of the movie was, who you have to thank or not thank, that sort of thing).


Wow. This is really a surprise. I suppose everyone says that, but I really, really am floored to find myself standing here.

I first started writing The Artboy Chronicles as part of National Novel Writing Month. So first, let me thank Chris Baty and the rest of the NaNoWriMo group for giving me a reason to start typing in the first place. I always knew I had a story in my head. All the personal drama that went into living the material for Artboy had to pay off somewhere, and Chris got me motivated into writing it down. Somehow, my failed NaNoWriMo attempt became a story, then a screenplay, then the movie you�ve all honored here tonight.

When Penny Marshall agreed to direct my little story, I knew I�d hit the big time. And when she told me she wanted me in the movie, too, I thought I�d died and gone to heaven. Thank you, Penny, for believing in me, my script, and my unproven acting ability.

Thanks, of course, to the rest of my cast. Heath, I have to say that you�ve given artboys everywhere a high standard to live up to, and kissing you on screen has got to be one of the biggest thrills of my adult life. And to the crew�you folks are the reason I�m up here�you made me look good on camera, even when I�d been up all night working on rewrites. You�re miracle workers. Truly.

God, I�m so nervous. I know there are a zillion people out there waiting to hear me say their names.

Mom, thanks for coming to the set, even though you hated California, and sticking around, even though you hated the subject matter even more.

And to the Boyfriend, who sat through that aforementioned onscreen kiss and didn�t even flinch. The next one�s for you, honey!

Thanks again. All of you. This is amazing.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< quick check | ACRIN meetings and lobster salad >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona