My terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad morning
2001-10-26 - 4:19 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

We have a new employee in the department, Aimee. She started about three weeks ago, but due to some shifts in space, she hasn�t yet ended up in a final office. The office that is designated for her was vacated, painted and cleaned earlier this week. Now, she just needs a phone and a chair. This shouldn�t be that complicated a request.

So earlier today, I emailed Tony, our facilities connection, to ask about the status of my request. I got an email back from him a while later, telling me where in the system we sat. Then he said, �Today is my last day at the hospital. Someone from Facilities will be in touch with you.�

The layoffs land hard, and they land on the people I like.

They couldn�t have gotten rid of his asshole boss, now could they?

On a good note, my area escaped the axe this time around�not just me, but all of the administration people. I�m very lucky. The department I work in cares a lot about its employees and does whatever it can to keep us all here. It�s too bad the whole hospital doesn�t operate that way.

I�m feeling awfully tired today, but the lack of sleep was worth the conversation with Carla. I am very blessed to have her in my life. Most people I know don�t have a friend in their lives like the one I have in her.

This morning, however, I had one of those moments that make me wonder how I manage to make it though an entire day, and how anyone else can manage to talk to me!

As it was almost 1 a.m. when Carla left, my mom insisted that I spend the night there instead of driving back to the city. I was too tired to even pretend to protest (I�m sorry we couldn�t just keep Carla there as well!). I shut out the light in the bedroom around 1:30, just after I set the alarm for 6:00.

After what felt like three minutes of sleep, I rolled out of bed and back into my clothes, intent on driving back to the apartment and getting ready for my day.

No such luck. My keys were nowhere to be found. Convinced I�d left them in Carla�s car when we went to get pizza, I panicked, and then called the MBTA to find out about the commuter rail schedule into Boston.

I wanted more than anything to take this as a sign that I should call in and go back to bed.

Instead, I showered, dressed in my mom�s clothes, put on her deodorant and her eyeliner and gratefully accepted her offer of a ride to the train. I was at my desk in 47 minutes, door to door.

Of course, I have no keys and need to just hope that Chris is home when I get there, but so it goes.

The keys? They weren�t in Carla�s truck. They were on the floor in the kitchen, under a chair.

I should never look for anything on four and a half hours of sleep.

Anyway�

Lois, my mom�s friend and the mother of the bride from the Newport wedding, stopped at the house last night. She brought me a gift, Martha Stewart�s Guide to Weddings, and the news that Heidi is pregnant. She apparently got pregnant on the Tuesday after the wedding (yes, that�s as somewhere around 72 hours after they exchanged their vows). She told us she planned to get pregnant right away. I guess she wasn�t kidding!

Mom told me that Heidi was just being a good daughter, supplying her mom with a grandchild like that. I told her to get over it. She has at least another couple years to wait.

Of course, at the same time, there�s a piece of me (a small piece) that thinks, �Hey, cool�a baby!�

I�ll get over that.

Tonight, assuming that I can get in my house, the Boyfriend and I are going to sit on the couch and watch a movie. Once we clean up the house, that is. His mom is coming over tomorrow. This will be the first time she�s been in my apartment. He doesn�t understand why this is a stress-inducing event.

I don�t want to do a ridiculous cleanup, though. I�d prefer to spend the time sitting on the couch with the Boyfriend. Sounds much better than cleaning the bathroom!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Costume hunt and busy schedules | Halloween photos! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona