T minus NINE days and counting!
2002-08-15 - 5:43 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I officially have no brain left.

This is not good. I still have two more days of work. I still have projects I want to complete before the end of Tuesday. I have very little hope that my desk will be cleared of all that stuff by then, though.

Oh well. So it goes. It and I will both survive.

My job is not my life. My job is simply the means that provides for my having a life.

I�m figuring that by the end of the day tomorrow, I won�t care. Tomorrow, Mom and I are headed to the Giuliano Day Spa for their �Best of Boston Experience,� including a Swedish massage, Vichy shower treatment, Giuliano facial essential, spa lunch, deluxe spa manicure, deluxe spa pedicure, hairstyling and makeup application, special take-home gift and complimentary parking. The day will cost a little less, with tip, than my entire month�s rent from the Apartment. Someone please tell me it will be worth it. Selila swears by their massage therapist, so I�m going in with the feeling that it will be. Hey, it�s still all about the bride for nine more days!

Nine more days.

In nine days, the Boyfriend becomes the Husband, and I become Mrs. Jennifer Boyfriend�slastname. It�s so weird to think that I won�t even have the same name. Not that I have a huge attachment to my name�my dad didn�t exactly foster a need for me to keep it�but it�s my name. It�s who I�ve always been. And now, I�ll be someone else, at least in a legal, signature sort of way.

I�ve been told that I�m amazingly calm. Can anyone tell me to whom I can attribute the quote about going through life like a duck, gliding serenely over the water but paddling like hell underneath? Because that�s kind of how I feel. Not that I�m nervous about the wedding. But there�s just so much going on. And I feel like I need to answer to the world right now. Because that�s the down side about it being all about the bride. That means ALL.

I am looking more forward to setting foot on that boat than I ever thought was possible. Not that I�m wishing the wedding away. I�m sure that it will be a wonderful day. But getting married is exhausting. No one tells you that.

Someone said to me the other day, �I bet you�re wishing you guys just went to Vegas, huh Jennifer?� Although the idea has its momentary appeal, I�m really not. As exhausted as I may be, I can�t imagine doing something this important without the people I love around me.

Not that I technically NEED anyone but the Boyfriend, the minister and a couple witnesses, but you know what I mean.

My brother and SIL fly in with the kids on Saturday. Two sleeps �til Ron and Shelly, Caley, Genie and Erik. That�s nothing. We�re going to drive down and meet them at their hotel for dinner. That will be the first official Wedding Week Activity. From there, it doesn�t stop, not really, until September 8th, when we get off the boat again and try to reacclimate to whatever will pass for normal after the wedding (Microsoft Word doesn�t like �reacclimate.� It wants me to use �reacclimatize.� I didn�t know that was a word!).

It�s quite an adventure, don�t you think?

Okay, now I�m off to try and avoid needing a sedative.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< For the Artboy, in the midst of my wedding plans | In the Homestretch and DS4 >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona