Whose news is it anyway?
June 17, 2004 - 12:51 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Craige did something today that made me smile--she joined my notify list. It's just a little reminder that someone out there wants to know I'm still here. A smile-worthy moment.

I'm waiting for Will to wake up from one of his infrequent power naps. He's been out for over two hours. I wish I knew when these were going to happen--I could plan accordingly. Not that I'd probably get much done anyway. His down time becomes my down time. So the laundry needs to be done--big deal. I'm taking a few minutes of Mommy Time.

Betsy called the house this morning to tell us that the Princess Amy got a job. She's moving to New York in a couple weeks to live with her fiance. The long-distance thing got too difficult once the ring was on her finger, so she's packing up and heading to the big city. While I don't begrudge her the job in any way--I can't imagine surviving in Manhattan without some source of income, even if your fiance has a big-time bank job and enough cash to buy you a weekend house in the Hamptons--but the way she called...

What exactly is the etiquette involved in telling your long-unemployed son that your daughter just got a job after only about a month of searching. She'll go straight from one job to the next. And I'm glad for her. But sad for me. And annoyed at my mother-in-law. She didn't have to be so damn gleeful about it.

Or maybe I just feel like it was Amy's news to tell. Maybe that's what's bothering me. Maybe it's just that Betsy didn't let her share her own joy. She has a habit of stepping in and opening her mouth where the news isn't really hers to share, even when she's been asked not to. I remember discovering that she'd told all friends we were pregnant, even after we had specificially told her NO ONE ELSE should know until we got past 12 weeks. I was livid. I told the Husband that I would NEVER confide in her again. But I don't know that it bothers either of her children as much as it does me.

Perhaps they just need to fool themselves into believing she's a nicer person than the rest of us know her to be. It's the only way to live with the blood relation.

It's a theory, anyway.

The looooooong nap seems to be over. This means the Breastaurant is in business.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (2 people have spoken already)

< Money? Who needs money? | - >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona