Money? Who needs money?
June 16, 2004 - 10:26 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

It's hot in my house. Not that it isn't hot in lots of places, but I can only experience the hot that's HERE right now. I'm typing this and sweating my ass off. Hoping it will mean I weigh a little less next time I step on the scale. Hey--I know it's mental aerobics, but still...

I came up here to type a memo for my boss, Gail. She writes in Gailish. Unfortunately, most of our employees have a little trouble reading Gailish, so I'm her official interpreter. No complaints, other than the sweaty part. It means I get paid an extra hour this week, and every hour helps...

The hours have become that much more important, folks, because the Husband still does not have a job, and last week's paltry unemployment check was the last one we'll receive from the state of Massachusetts, thank you very much. It appears that the federal program that used to sponsor the additional 26 weeks of unemployment assistance was discontinued last year. Lucky, lucky us. Some fat-assed beaurocrat who will NEVER be unemployed because you essentially have to DIE to get out of a federal job decided that sponsoring additional weeks of unemployment encourages people to stay unemployed longer. Speaking as the wife of a man who is now one of the "long-term unemployed " (which means "out of a job for over six months, I've learned), I can say unequivocally that this is complete and utter BULLSHIT. Kirk has applied for a good 40 jobs in the past three days. He has an interview Monday at 10. He's combing the ads and calling the people we know and inquiring with head hunters and doing everything but stick a big sign on his ass that says, "hire me, please!" But the job just hasn't come yet. So in the meantime, we have a mortgage and a seven-month-old son and a thousand-dollar-a-month insurance plan, and our only income is coming from the nine hours a week I sit and translate Gailish to English.

However many memos she needs, I'll be typing...

Just as a side note, I've started also writing all of the Husband's cover letters. Does this constitute dishonesty in the workplace? I just figure they can hire him first and discover things like the fact that he never knew you were supposed to leave two spaces after a period between sentences until after the fact. Gotta love that Massachusetts public school system!

On the positive side of things...

Mom and Jay, my stepbrother and her house contractor, are sitting at my dining room table right now, discussing the details of her *finally* finished house plans. The utility guys have already been here. The permits are in the works. The soil test will be dug on Friday, and if all goes well, the foundation will be dug and the forms poured next week!

One step closer to separate households. This is very, very good news for my marriage. And for my mom, too. Living in one little room of our house has got to be getting on her nerves.

And in other good news, I have the cutest baby ever. I look at him and realize that the rest is just details. Really.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (1 people have spoken already)

< Thank you, Matthew Shepard | Whose news is it anyway? >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona