The not-so-big question
2001-08-15 - 5:10 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Ah�Wednesday afternoon. Past the hump. Life is good.

I want to send a special shout out to Turtleguy, Kathy, Alice, Joe and Mimi. These are some of the best folks in Diaryland, my friends. And I don�t mean just in terms of their writing, although I think they�re all wonderful diarists. I mean as people. You won�t find better. I�m honored to link to you all!

The Boyfriend and I went to my mom�s last night for dinner. Jay, my stepbrother, turns 25 today, and my mom insisted on having a party for him even though he acted horrible and told her not to invite anyone and refused to pick a menu and behaved generally like a five-year-old about the whole thing. Undaunted, Mom set the table for seven, and she, David, Kristy, Dave (my brother-in-law), the Boyfriend and I all sang Happy Birthday as he blew out a candle. Not on the cake, mind you. Mom believes that makes the cake taste like smoke and the blower�s spit, so the candle always goes next to the cake.

Regardless of Jay�s behavior, we had a very good dinner. Planning the wedding is good for my family unit. It�s made Kristy feel closer to me, which makes Dave more relaxed with us, all of which makes David really happy. And we like to make David happy. It�s good when there�s a generally peaceful, easy feeling in the house. I like that.

After we finished eating, Kristy and I cleared the dishes off the table while David set up to wash. Jay, Dave, Kirk and Mom went to watch the Red Sox play like the Red Sox are known to do. At some point, David and I ended up alone in the kitchen.

He smiled at me, the smile of a kid with a secret. Apparently, the Boyfriend had asked him �officially� for permission to ask me to marry him. David, of course, said yes. He told the Boyfriend how much he and my mom liked him, and how they thought we were a wonderful couple and how they hoped we�d have kids not too far in the future. I wasn�t sure David was supposed to tell me any of this, but he couldn�t keep it to himself. He was bursting.

I told my mom that David had spilled the beans, but didn�t mention it to anyone else. I didn�t want to make the Boyfriend feel bad.

I shouldn�t have been concerned. He told me himself this morning, on the way to work.

I swear, sometimes they�re plotting to drive me insane.

I get to do a fifteen-minute phone interview about patient-physician email communication tonight for a study the Harvard Medical School is doing. For my participation, I�ll receive twenty-five dollars. Not such a bad deal.

Off to finish my Andes mint cookie from Souper Salad and head home. Mmmm�Andes mint cookies. Yum!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Dress shopping | rice for lunch! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona