A long ten hours
January 27, 2004 - 1:00 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

In November of 1999, I walked away from the Artboy for the last time. I stood up out of his bed after telling him that I was leaving and, over his protests and hopeful prophecies, walked downstairs and drove away. I knew it was finally for good, even if he hadn't yet accepted that. As much as I loved him, I knew it was the right thing to do, and it was the hardest leaving I've ever done.

Ever, that is, until yesterday, when I walked out the door and went back to work for the first time since Will was born. I left him with my mom and returned to my desk, where my boss kept me extremely, extremely busy for the next ten hours.

I only called home twice. The second time, at 4;30, when I couldn't stand it any more, I had my mom put the phone up to his head so I could hear him breathing. I talked to him, and he cooed back at me. He hugged the phone. When we hung up, I cried. So did he.

I arrived home at 5:15 to find him asleep on my mom's chest, the last 20 minutes of the two hours he napped all day. I stood next to her, patting his head, until she said, "You want to take him, don't you?" I nodded. "Well, Jennifer, go ahead. You can--he's YOUR baby."

And he is.

Tuesdays are going to be hard.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (2 people have spoken already)

< A moment of internet access | Amost moved in >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona