At my desk again
2001-09-17 - 4:34 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Go read this article from Salon.com.

My friend Margaret emailed it to me today. Although most of what�s been passed on to me I haven�t felt the need to call to anyone else�s attention, this one I thought should be shared.

I�m back at work, back at my desk, in the middle of payroll problems and volumes and locker issues and HR questions and phone call after phone call after phone call. And I couldn�t be happier about it. How good it feels to do something routine, something I feel competent at, something I know how to handle.

My coworkers were so nice to me this morning. Nancy, the woman who was covering for me while I was out, has hugged me three times today. Perhaps the thought of doing my job full-time frightened her, but I choose to believe she�s just glad I�m back.

Tonight, I attempt to unpack and set my house in some semblance of order. Perhaps I�ll watch a 7th Heaven rerun. I could use some straightforward family values, even if I have to take the saccharine TV kind.

My friend Damon told me that he bought a banjo last week. He has no idea how to play it, but he suddenly decided, in the aftermath of Tuesday�s atrocity, that he needed to own one. He�s signing up for lessons to learn how to play it, and promised to perform a happy banjo song for me when he�s learned a bit. He said he knows it�s an odd thing to have done, but that there�s so much bad insanity in the world right now, he needed to add some good insanity. I completely understand that.

I wish I had some of the leftover cake from yesterday�s shower right now. They ordered five one-layer round cakes. They were supposed to be white with green writing that said �love,� �hope, �cherish,� �faith� and �forever.� The bakery got the words right, but the frosting colors backwards. We had a table full of St. Patrick�s Day shower cakes. Whatever. It still tasted good. I brought home a big chunk. Not sure who decided we needed five cakes. There was way too much left over. Perhaps people were just scared off by the green frosting. Maybe I just told my cousin Julie (Diana�s other sister and the Maid of Honor) that to make her paranoid. Sometimes, I�m not very nice. But she was so overreacting about the mix up, I couldn�t help myself.

The Boyfriend was hurt last night that I chose to go to the vigil with my mom, in the town I was already in, which is only half an hour from home, instead of driving alone down to Marshfield, an hour away, to meet him and his mom and dad and Amy for dinner, then have to drive the hour home, alone. He thinks I just don�t want to see him. That wasn�t it. It had nothing to do with him at all. I was tired and sad and needed my mom for a while. Was that wrong?

Trying not to dwell on last week. Instead, I�ll just leave some good thoughts and a quick prayer for Tim and his family. I hope they get some news. I continue to hope it�s good news. Sometimes, hope is all you have.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< I just can't clear my head | In a strange dazey place today >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona