Rock-Hard Place
2001-06-21 - 5:09 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Hey, happy Summer Solstice, all!

I�m celebrating the first day of summer by heading to BARCC for incest and child sexual assault training.

Jordan forewarned us that this is thought by many to be the most difficult night of the training. I guess I�ll have more to say about that later.

Carla and I have been talking today about the woman in Texas who killed her five kids. She was being treated (obviously unsuccessfully) for Postpartum Depression (PPD) and was on medication. Regardless, she drowned all five of her kids, then called the police and turned herself in. She also called her husband and said, �I think you�d better come home.�

Now, I�m not questioning what would make her drown her kids. Obviously, her medication wasn�t working.

I just wonder how she could have gotten to the point where her PPD was SO bad that she would drown her children without anyone noticing that she was deteriorating and stepping in.

I have a huge amount of sympathy for her.

I do not, however, have any sympathy for the 15-year-old kid I saw on the news this morning. The one who�s been sentenced to life in prison for second-degree murder for killing a 40-year-old woman. He was drunk, shot her from close range.

He looked so young and scared on the TV. No sympathy at all.

Man, I�m cheerful today, huh?

Maybe my blood sugar is low. Maybe I just need some sleep.

I actually had a nice dinner with Damon last night. He was okay with the news. This was good.

I feel bad, though. He�s having issues with another friend of ours, one of his roommate�s girlfriend. She�s acted terribly toward him and doesn�t see that she�s in the wrong. I am trying not to get in the middle of it, because I like Damon and don�t think the things she�s said are true. I also don�t want to alienate her. I don�t quite know what to do about it. Nothing, I suppose. At least not until directly confronted.

And I got FIVE new Longaberger baskets! How could it not have been a good night?!

Now I�m off to talk about childhood sexual assault. I guess I don�t really wonder why I�m in a lousy mood.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Not a rape-free entry | blah blah blah--hey--it's the weekend! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona