Not a rape-free entry
2001-06-20 - 4:30 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I planned to put up an update when I got home from BARCC last night to make up for the pitiful excuse for an entry I threw up here at the end of the workday yesterday, but I appear to have done something bad (hopefully not fatal) to the iMac.

I frequently bitch at AOL, a.k.a. Tool of Satan, for being difficult, losing my connection, telling me the server isn�t responding, just plain shutting off in the middle of my reading or writing something, but it�s never that bad. If it just knocks me off, I sign back on or shut the computer off. If it freezes the whole system, I hit the handy little reset button on the side and reboot, then either shut it off or sign back on. No big deal.

Last night, it kicked me off once and told me to sign back on. I did exactly that. Second time around, AOL was slow to respond and difficult. I asked it to do too many things at once, and it froze my whole system.

Unconcerned, I hit the reboot button.

The computer, however, did nothing but give me a gray screen. For 20 minutes.

I hit the button again. This time, a little folder icon appeared in the center of my screen. The picture in the center of the folder flashed between the Mac OS 9 logo and a big black question mark.

I recognized that it was asking for an operating system-related thing, and put the CD with OS9 into the DVD-ROM drive. The system booted from the disc, but wouldn�t let me do anything once it was up. This included re-installing OS9. It says the hard drive disc is locked, and I need to either choose another disc (no other options, though) or do a �clean install�, whatever that is.

Anyone who could offer some insight would have my eternal gratitude.

Last night, we talked about the Massachusetts Victim Assistance Program. I�d never heard of it before. People who are victims of violent crimes that happen in MA can apply for financial assistance. Each person is eligible to receive up to twenty five thousand dollars to cover various expenses not paid by insurance, court settlement, etc.�expenses like counseling bills, lost wages, medical expenses, funeral expenses (up to four thousand dollars to the family of a murdered victim).

To receive benefits, people must report the crime to the police (although there does not need to be an arrest or conviction in the case) and send in their applications for benefits within three years from the date of the incident. Once an application has been approved, there�s no time limit on receiving the funds, so people are encouraged to apply even if they have no need right then for the money.

Apparently, every state has a program like this. It�s always good to hear about something that gives back to people who have had so much taken away. We also learned that the program has more money than applicants, so educating the public about its availability is important.

If you or someone you know could benefit from something like this, call your attorney general�s office. In MA, that number is 617-727-2200.

The second part of our night, we were visited by one of the nurses who is part of the SANE network. SANE stands for Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner, and a SANE nurse has been specially trained on collecting evidence in a rape kit and in the special needs of a rape victim that will be different from another patient. Details about the program are here. People in MA who choose to go to the hospital after a sexual assault can choose to go to a facility that is part of the SANE network. That means that when the person comes into the emergency room, the SANE nurse will be paged to come in and meet the patient and conduct the entire exam. BARCC also trains medical advocates who are on the SANE pager system and who will go to the SANE site specifically to assist the survivor as necessary.

Patty, the SANE nurse who talked with us, also talked about date rape drugs, which she said the SANE program now refers to as rape drugs, as the rape has nothing to do with a date. Most of the group was horrified to learn that not only are the drugs completely legal to have, and possession is not an arrestable offense, but also that now cities are seeing arrests of bartenders who have put the drugs into women�s drinks before they get passed off the bar, paid off by men in the bar who are thwarted by women�s attempts to make themselves safe by guarding their drinks and only buying their own.

My PSA for the day, part two:

If you or someone you know is assaulted, going to the hospital is a priority, even if you choose not to report the incident to the police. Bring the clothes you were wearing before and after the assault, along with any other items (bedsheets, towels, tissues, etc) that might have biological evidence of the attack. Don�t take a shower if you can stand to wait. Go as soon as you feel able. If you wake up and don�t remember what happened but feel you may have been assaulted (with the use of some kind of drug), wait to use the bathroom or collect your urine in some kind of container�your first and second urine will hold the best evidence of drugs, and may show other evidence as well. You will have the opportunity to keep the items collected anonymous (though you�ll have up to six months afterwards to change your mind). You can decline any part of the exam you don�t feel comfortable with allowing to happen. You will be given antibiotics if you want them and emergency contraception as well (though not if you go to a Catholic hospital). Most importantly, if you go to a SANE site, you will be treated with care and respect. The choices will be yours.

End of PSA for today.

The last part of our training yesterday involved role-playing in a hotline scenario. Again, I am reminded how glad I am I�m not doing hotline training. I don�t feel like I�m ready for that. Even the group scenarios are hard for me to talk through. In public ed, we have a group of statistics and ideas and facts�a set of information�to pass on to a group and some guidelines as to how to do it. With the hotline, you never know what will be on the other end of that phone.

Tonight, I�m going home to pick up my BASKETS! (Yay!) from the Longaberger party in May. Then Damon and I are going to get some dinner. I need to tell him tonight that the Boyfriend and I set a date. I have no idea how he�ll respond to that, since it was less than six months ago that he told me he had feelings for me that went beyond the boundaries of our friendship.

He�s one of the people I don�t want to hear about this second or third-hand. I think it will be better if I tell him myself. Of course, I feel that way about the Artboy, too, but I can�t seem to get in touch with him. Again, part of me is tempted to just send him the diary URL and leave it at that. I know what a bad idea that would be, though. But I really don�t want him to hear this through the grapevine. That seems really�wrong.

I�m off to yet another sorry-you�re-leaving party. Hey, it�s cake. And cake is always good.

Nice night, y�all�

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Quickly now! | Rock-Hard Place >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona