Mom and Blogs and Lots of Cement
August 05, 2004 - 9:31 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

A couple days ago, I was talking with my mom, and our conversation somehow worked its way around to my friend Heather's blog. I don't remember why I mentioned it, but I was telling her about something I'd read in there, when she interrupted me and asked, "What's a 'blog'?"

I explained that blog is short for weblog, and is like an online journal of sorts, accessible to whoever has the url.

She said, "So her whole life is up there on the internet, for anyone to see?

"Well, kinda, yeah."

"Why would she do that?"

"I don't know--to keep a record of what's happening in her life? To keep in touch with people she doesn't talk to all the time? Because it makes her write to have readers?"

"And what makes her think her life would be interesting to anyone else? Who would read it?

"Well, I read it."

She shook her head at me. "I just don't get it, Jennifer." I pointed out that she just generally doesn't "get" the internet at all. This is the woman who, in trying to read me an email address, said, "it's blahblahblah, then that "a" with a circle around it, then a period, then see oh emm."

We agreed to disagree.

I will never try to explain THIS site to her. She'd take personal offense.

Moving on to something that makes her much happier, I was wrong about the cement trucks yesterday.

Around 4:00, a huge noise outside brought me to the window--there was a pump truck in our driveway! They managed to get it into correct pouring position, and then the cement trucks started pulling in. All told, ten of the big trucks with the mixing tanks on the back dropped their wares into the pump truck's big mouth. It was after 8:00 by the time the pump truck pulled out again, between filling the forms, watering everything down, and cleaning up.

The crew couldn't have been nicer, and all appropriately oohed and smiled at Will. Several of them told him to go to college so he wouldn't end up in jobs like theirs. He, of course, smiled his one-toothy smile and drooled a lot.

Finally, the second top tooth has broken through, which is good news. Unless, of course, you're partial to the one-toothed, mountain man look, which is what he's been sporting for the past couple weeks. The top tooth came in much faster than the bottom teeth did (he's got three total, but the two on the bottom have crawled, while the top one seems to have just fallen into place). I blame gravity. It's as good an explanation as any.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (1 people have spoken already)

< Bang bang bang | On my Presidential Soapbox >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona