A reply from the church
April 04, 2005 - 2:07 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

April 1, 2005

Dear Jennifer,

I want to thank tyou for tyour careful and forthright letter. I appreciate your taking the time and giving the thought that is very evident in it. I have waited until the Easter rush passed in order to respond as best I can.

Clearly, we as a community, and I as an individual, have failed you and your family in that we have failed to be the welcoming community that we want to be. In that, I accept full responsibility. I am truly sorry, and I ask your forgiveness.

The second half of 2004 was a very difficult time for us as a church. We suffered an unusual number of deaths, and as if that was not enough, some old disagreements among members boiled to the surface. It was not a good period for those struggles we spoke of last spring. I can't speak for anyone else, but it is clear from your letter that I, at least, became so mired in details that important things, like building relationships, took a back seat.

Under the circumstances, I understand your decision to seek out a new church. I would like, and think most of our members would like, to invite you to try us again. However, I know your decision was not arrived at lightly, and understand very well that you may not find that a real possibility.

If that is indeed the case, I would like to suggest a possible church for you to look into. First Congregational UCC in S. has been through a time of struggle, not unlike ours, and shows every sign of having come out the other side. They have just called a new pastor, who has joined them after a long and productive ministry in T. I believe they wmay be able to offer you all the kind of welcome you deserve, and the church home you need.

Closing, let me say that if you want to discuss any of the matters you mentioned, I would be glad for the opportunity to do so.

Sincerely,
H.M.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (2 people have spoken already)

< Pictures from the wedding weekend! | One more request >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona