Places to stay, people to see, dresses to wear
2002-02-25 - 5:20 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

For anyone I confused this morning, I did put up an entry when I first got to work today. Then, I realized that it contained information I wasn�t quite ready or able to share yet, so I pulled it. I meant to just edit it, but I managed to delete it. Monday mornings are not my strongest suit.

Anyway�

What a Mondayish sort of Monday it is. I actually received two pieces of news this morning, one very good and one really incredibly sucky, neither of which I can share even with you yet, Diary. I hate having things I can�t talk about. It just makes me want to talk about them more.

It�s been a somewhat insane Monday, I have to say. Following a hugely busy weekend. Thursday night, Mom and I had dinner with Kristy. I�d invited her to come to the dress fitting on Saturday, but she was going to the ballet with her mom to see Giselle, so she suggested that we at least get together for dinner. She met us at the house and we went to Bertucci�s. Mmmm�margherita pizza and salad with the Chianti vinaigrette dressing. Yummy.

It�s actually the first time I�ve seen Kristy since the day we closed the gym. She said she hasn�t been leaving the house much. She�s so very angry with David right now. I know a lot of that is a manifestation of guilt. Much easier to be angry with him than at herself. But it�s hard to listen to. I wish there were something I could say that would improve the situation, but I know she needs to settle it for herself. None of which stops me from feeling badly about it. She�s hurting so much, and she�s so closed in.

It was interesting, though. At the end of the night, she pulled in the driveway and said, �Okay, let me get out so I can give hugs!� She rarely hugs us by choice. I see that as a good sign.

I was afraid she was going to tell me she was backing out of the wedding. This made the evening a very pleasant surprise.

Friday, Mom and I went to meet with Gina about the flowers. They�re going to be gorgeous. And absolutely barn-appropriate. Yay us!

On the way home, we stopped at the Marriott Courtyard to talk about setting aside a block of rooms for our wedding guests. The hotel staff couldn�t have been nicer or more helpful, and we happily had Cheryl, their event coordinator, set aside 20 rooms for potential reservations.

While we were standing at the desk, giving Cheryl all the information, a woman came in and asked for a room. She was alone, and entered without any luggage or even a coat. When the desk staff asked how she wanted to pay for her room, she said, �cash,� and proceeded to count 20�s out of her wallet. One of the women asked her if she was okay, and she said that she�d gotten very nauseous while driving and just wanted to lay down. At that point, she asked the desk to hold any calls for her, and then said, �actually, I�m leaving my husband, and I don�t want him to know I�m here. At all.�

It was a very surreal moment. Here we were, setting up reservations for a very happy occasion, while this woman stood next to us in the midst of her crumbling life. No one quite knew what to say. The hotel staff was great with her, though, asking if she would be more comfortable on the second floor, giving her suggestions on where to park her car so it wouldn�t be seen and blocking all calls to her room. It made me sad, though.

It was a somber moment in an otherwise happy weekend. I tried on my dress on Saturday. I still love it. This is good. Carla joined us again, this time along with Diana and all the women from my neighbor�s family�not just Erica, but Bailey (who is 18), Whitney (16) and Annie (12). The woman helping me with the dress mentioned several times what a wonderful group I had along and how lucky I was to have them. She was right. I am lucky. They are wonderful. Carla even brought favors for everyone. How cool is that?!

We chose a bridesmaid�s dress, too. I tried to save a copy of the picture, but I haven�t quite been able to steal them off the web pages. I emailed the other girls who weren�t with us this morning and gave them the dress information, and told them what they needed to do from here.

I should mention that back when Carla had the meet-the-rest-of-the-wedding-party party a few months ago, we talked about dresses. I asked them if anyone had anything they specifically felt strongly about dress-wise (I don�t like wearing dresses with low or no backs, for instance), and they all said no, whatever I chose would be fine.

I attached a link to a photo of the dress, but gave the big disclaimer�the photo makes the dress and the model look like a trampy bar wench, but the dress isn�t really like that at all.

Of course, the only one of them that I heard back from complained endlessly about it. Was there another option? Didn�t I think it was too snug in the front? How could I possibly expect her to fill out a dress like that? Okay, she didn�t say it QUITE like that, but it was close�

I also feel compelled to mention that when this particular bridesmaid got married, she made me wear a dress that looked like a pepper with a big bow on the butt. I smiled, forked over my cash and never said a word. To her. It hangs in the back of my closet, mocking me.

I don�t really feel bad. But I just didn�t need that today.

A few minutes ago, though, I got good news that makes me not think about dress attitude. My sister-in-law emailed me! They�re all coming to the wedding�kids, too!!! This is SUCH good news! Yay, Ron and Shelly!!!

I just hit three pages in Word. I should really stop here. It gives me something to say tomorrow�

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Busy, busy, busy! | No meat and potatoes guy--just the meat >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona