Good news all around!
July 28, 2004 - 9:35 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Things are happening around here, alright...

The hole in the backyard is no longer empty. The forms are in, and the footings will get poured tomorrow, assuming there are no longer intermittent downpours going on. The house is finally starting to take shape. Everyone living here is breathing a collective sigh of relief!

On a larger, more important scale, THE HUSBAND HAS A JOB!!!!! After eight loooooooooong months of unemployment, he goes back to work on Monday. Not a moment too soon, let me tell you. If he stayed here with us much longer, we might have come to blows. Togetherness is good. Too much togetherness is not.

I wonder if it will seem odd to Will to suddenly have just one of us around most of the time, or if he's still too little to make a connection like that. I know he'd notice if I suddenly disappeared every day, but I'm his primary caretaker, not to mention his primary food source. The Daddy is like the icing. The Husband is afraid Will will forget who he is if he's gone all day. I pointed out that thousands--millions, even--of other fathers manage to keep a job and maintain a relationship with their kids. I got a, "So, what's your point?"

On another happy note, for the first time in my life, I attempted to "fix up" two friends. It seems to be working. In the past two weeks, they've been out four times, and have spoken on the phone many times each day. He's apparently stayed at her apartment twice, too. I knew he was the "jump in with both feet and no eyes" kind of guy--I warned him before I introduced them to relax and take it slow. Apparently, my warning fell on deaf ears, but it doesn't seem to matter.

Sometimes, for some people, it's less a question of "who you are" and more of "whether you fit into my life." I just hope they don't wake up a month or two from now and realize they're full-throttle in a relationship with someone they don't know.

On the other hand, if they get married (and I'm not jumping the gun on this one--that's what he wants, and he wants it last week, though he wanted it even when there WAS no girl), do we sit on the bride's side or the groom's? I've known her since we were little kids--we grew up together. But he is the Husband's best friend and Will's godfather, and was best man at our wedding. It's a dilemma, I know.

Hey, I have to think about SOMETHING when the baby wakes me up at 3am, don't I?

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (1 people have spoken already)

< Two Requests | On the Bus >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona