The Long Fickle Finger of Fate
April 12, 2005 - 10:54 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I'm taking a chance here, trying to add an entry, since Comcast appears to once again be having trouble with our cable internet. This is the fourth time this week that our access has been spotty at best. Grrr. Arrgh. Perhaps it was just trying to send me the message to go do something else...

Anyway...

First on the agenda--the Walk. With the support of my wonderful family and friends, I raised just over $900 this year for the National MS Society/Central New England Chapter. I couldn't be happier. Well--I suppose, in truth, I could be a little bit happier. Next year, my goal is to hit $1000. But NEXT year, our tenth walk, we're also planning to build a huge team. So walk with us next year.

In other news, my mom was talking to her friend L tonight. L's daughter and her husband have been married for about a year longer than the Husband and I have. Their wedding was the week before we got "officially" engaged. They have two kids, one who was conceived on their honeymoon and one who's about three months younger than Will. L called my mom tonight to tell her that they split up. They're still living in the same house, but in separate areas of it. He apparently was totally micromanaging her life and behaving like a lunatic control freak (Sleeping With the Enemy can adjustment kind of control freakiness), and she finally just had enough.

I'm very sad about this. I've known L's daughter almost my whole life--all but the first two months or so of her life. Their wedding was a ridiculously huge affair, their courtship rather storybook-romantic. Goes to show once again that you really have no idea what's going on behind other people's closed doors. Poor thing, though. She had a pretty good life before she married him--she's a clasically trained opera singer with an incredible voice and the looks of Cameron Diaz, and she could have been a superstar. She gave it up because she wanted a family. I don't think this is exactly the family she expected. Single mom, two kids, not yet at her 30th birthday.

In other news, both the Husband and I have contracted mystery sore throats, congestion, and watery eyes. Perhaps it's just allergies. One can always hope. On the good side of that, the fact that I had no voice meant I didn't have to answer phones at work today. Bright side to everything and all...

Amy and her new hubby arrive home from their honeymoon tomorrow. Hoping she finds a peace in being married that has thus far been missing from her life.

And on that note, I'm taking my sore throat and watery eyes and going to bed. Pleasant dreams, all.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< More Wedding Photos! | 'Cause after two and a half years, I'm an expert on the subject >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona